How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Massachusetts (2026)
Massachusetts employs about 2,580 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $50,170 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $50,170/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Massachusetts: 2,580 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.77x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in Massachusetts
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Laboure College of Healthcare | 71.8 | $30,618 - $36,863 | $90,473 | Not reported | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 2 | Middlesex Community College | 62.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,301 | 23% | Yes* | 21 mi |
| 3 | Massachusetts Bay Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $56,076 | 16% | Yes* | 18 mi |
| 4 | Quinsigamond Community College | 58.1 | Contact school for pricing | $55,076 | 21% | Yes* | 10 mi |
| 5 | Cape Cod Community College | 56.8 | $6,000 - $15,053 | $54,922 | 22% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 6 | Manchester Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $44,863 | Not reported | Yes* | 47 mi |
| 7 | Massasoit Community College | 53.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,288 | 21% | Yes* | 37 mi |
| 8 | Community College of Rhode Island | 51.2 | $5,550 - $14,834 | $51,971 | 26% | Yes* | 44 mi |
| 9 | Quincy College | 49.7 | Contact school for pricing | $59,190 | 16% | Yes* | 31 mi |
| 10 | Connecticut State Community College | 47.6 | Contact school for pricing | $50,130 | 21% | Yes* | 68 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Massachusetts employs approximately 2,580 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $50,170 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Massachusetts, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Massachusetts): $50,170 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Massachusetts
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Massachusetts? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Massachusetts? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in Massachusetts? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Massachusetts is $50,170 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $42,950 and experienced professionals can earn $62,350 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Massachusetts
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in Massachusetts. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in Massachusetts
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in Massachusetts
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in Massachusetts vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boston-Cambridge-Newton | 1,700 | $50,420 | $54,270 | $46,710 | $64,570 |
| Providence-Warwick | 1,180 | $46,430 | $47,660 | $36,830 | $57,650 |
| Springfield | 330 | $50,240 | $48,340 | $41,370 | $51,410 |
| Worcester | 270 | $48,110 | $49,450 | $40,910 | $57,310 |
| Barnstable Town | 70 | $53,500 | $56,740 | $41,890 | $70,120 |
| Pittsfield | 40 | $43,170 | $44,840 | $37,580 | $62,480 |
| Amherst Town-Northampton | N/A | $49,670 | $47,820 | $40,120 | $60,430 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in Massachusetts? Massachusetts currently employs approximately 2,580 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in Massachusetts with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Massachusetts? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Massachusetts.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in Massachusetts compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Massachusetts is $50,170, which is $6,510 above the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Massachusetts
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Attleboro, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Beverly, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Boston, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Brockton, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cambridge, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Chelsea, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Chicopee, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Everett, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Fall River, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Fitchburg, Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Gardner, Massachusetts (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Massachusetts
- Best HVAC Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Massachusetts
- Best Plumbing Schools in Massachusetts (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Massachusetts
Explore More Trades in Massachusetts
- Electrician in Massachusetts
- Plumber in Massachusetts
- HVAC Technician in Massachusetts
- Welder in Massachusetts
- Carpenter in Massachusetts
- Solar Installation Technician in Massachusetts
- Auto Mechanic in Massachusetts
- CNC Machinist in Massachusetts
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Massachusetts
- Medical Assistant in Massachusetts
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |