How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Mississippi (2026)
Mississippi employs about 1,200 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $36,290 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in Mississippi
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Petra College | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 166 mi |
| 2 | Southern Arkansas University Tech | 54.0 | $5,040 in-state / $6,480 out-of-state | $50,478 | 62% | Yes* | 196 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas | 52.0 | $3,380 in-state / $4,550 out-of-state | $39,117 | 55% | Yes* | 137 mi |
| 4 | University of Arkansas at Monticello | 49.8 | $9,292 in-state / $14,857 out-of-state | $48,735 | 49% | Yes* | 146 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Arkansas State University Mid-South | 47.4 | $3,216 in-state / $4,824 out-of-state | $42,850 | 58% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 6 | Delta Technical College-Mississippi | 44.4 | Contact school for pricing | $36,025 | 71% | — | 154 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Concorde Career College-Southaven | 44.0 | Contact school for pricing | $34,501 | 65% | — | 155 mi |
| 8 | Mississippi Delta Community College | 41.8 | $3,540 | $37,960 | 31% | Yes* | 75 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Delgado Community College | 41.7 | $4,279 | $48,141 | 24% | Yes* | 196 mi |
| 10 | Louisiana Delta Community College | 41.3 | $4,159 | $37,409 | 30% | Yes* | 149 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Mississippi employs approximately 1,200 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $36,290 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Mississippi, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Mississippi): $36,290 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Mississippi
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Mississippi? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Mississippi? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in Mississippi? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Mississippi is $36,290 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $27,730 and experienced professionals can earn $47,980 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Mississippi
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in Mississippi. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in Mississippi
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in Mississippi
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in Mississippi vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Memphis | 640 | $39,480 | $41,070 | $35,150 | $48,150 |
| Jackson | 370 | $38,280 | $38,500 | $30,760 | $47,000 |
| Gulfport-Biloxi | 180 | $34,260 | $34,510 | $29,070 | $38,650 |
| Hattiesburg | 70 | $37,750 | $40,290 | $30,660 | $49,020 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in Mississippi? Mississippi currently employs approximately 1,200 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in Mississippi with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Mississippi? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Mississippi.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in Mississippi compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Mississippi is $36,290, which is $7,370 below the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Mississippi
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bay St. Louis, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Biloxi, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Brandon, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Brookhaven, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Byram, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Canton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clarksdale, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cleveland, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clinton, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Columbus, Mississippi (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Corinth, Mississippi (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Mississippi
- Best HVAC Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Mississippi
- Best Plumbing Schools in Mississippi (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Mississippi
Explore More Trades in Mississippi
- Electrician in Mississippi
- Plumber in Mississippi
- HVAC Technician in Mississippi
- Welder in Mississippi
- Carpenter in Mississippi
- Solar Installation Technician in Mississippi
- Auto Mechanic in Mississippi
- CNC Machinist in Mississippi
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Mississippi
- Medical Assistant in Mississippi
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |