How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 2,760 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $39,010 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Carolina): $39,010/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Carolina: 2,760 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.30x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Montgomery Community College | 52.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,824 | 65% | Yes* | 124 mi |
| 2 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,000 | 32% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 3 | Ogeechee Technical College | 50.1 | Contact school for pricing | $40,635 | Not reported | Yes* | 111 mi |
| 4 | Savannah Technical College | 48.8 | Contact school for pricing | $44,293 | Not reported | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 5 | Oconee Fall Line Technical College | 46.8 | $3,380 - $24,902 | $37,265 | 54% | Yes* | 131 mi |
| 6 | Cleveland Community College | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $41,985 | Not reported | Yes* | 115 mi |
| 7 | Southeastern Technical College | 45.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,621 | 36% | Yes* | 141 mi |
| 8 | Southeastern Community College | 44.4 | Contact school for pricing | $51,895 | 47% | Yes* | 120 mi |
| 9 | Midlands Technical College | 41.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,832 | 17% | Yes* | 26 mi |
| 10 | Williamsburg Technical College | 41.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 54 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Carolina employs approximately 2,760 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,010 1. The state’s concentration of phlebotomy technician jobs is 1.30x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (South Carolina): $39,010 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Carolina
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Carolina? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Carolina? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in South Carolina is $39,010 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,760 and experienced professionals can earn $47,060 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Carolina
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in South Carolina. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in South Carolina
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 1,260 | $44,980 | $44,050 | $36,930 | $49,910 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 580 | $39,290 | $40,300 | $35,150 | $46,270 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 510 | $39,820 | $42,050 | $37,540 | $48,400 |
| Columbia | 400 | $40,210 | $41,160 | $36,030 | $46,680 |
| Spartanburg | 290 | $38,730 | $39,870 | $36,410 | $45,880 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 240 | $39,880 | $42,140 | $33,660 | $49,020 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 190 | $38,740 | $39,590 | $35,760 | $45,560 |
| Florence | 140 | $38,150 | $40,940 | $31,650 | $44,720 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 80 | $44,220 | $43,130 | $36,970 | $47,600 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 2,760 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in South Carolina with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Carolina.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in South Carolina is $39,010, which is $4,650 below the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Aiken, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Anderson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Beaufort, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bennettsville, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bluffton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Camden, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cayce, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Charleston, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clemson, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clinton, South Carolina (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Columbia, South Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |