How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 320 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $39,560 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Dakota): $39,560/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Dakota: 320 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.77x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | St Luke's College | 75.4 | $24,175 - $27,647 | $76,207 | Not reported | Yes* | 182 mi |
| 2 | Alexandria Technical & Community College | 74.5 | Contact school for pricing | $59,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 229 mi |
| 3 | Southeast Technical College | 69.7 | $7,650 - $20,272 | $53,289 | 56% | Yes* | 131 mi |
| 4 | Ridgewater College | 68.7 | Contact school for pricing | $49,859 | 48% | Yes* | 221 mi |
| 5 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 219 mi |
| 6 | Central Lakes College-Brainerd | 60.4 | $6,249 - $19,543 | $50,357 | 51% | Yes* | 294 mi |
| 7 | Western Dakota Technical College | 60.4 | $8,294 - $18,845 | $49,930 | 54% | Yes* | 192 mi |
| 8 | South Central College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $52,003 | 34% | Yes* | 261 mi |
| 9 | Western Nebraska Community College | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $50,624 | 36% | Yes* | 267 mi |
| 10 | Minnesota West Community and Technical College | 58.5 | $6,491 - $17,408 | $52,390 | 49% | Yes* | 192 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Dakota employs approximately 320 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $39,560 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (South Dakota): $39,560 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Dakota
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Dakota? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in South Dakota is $39,560 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,360 and experienced professionals can earn $45,240 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in South Dakota
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in South Dakota. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in South Dakota
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux Falls | 190 | $39,560 | $38,630 | $31,360 | $45,240 |
| Sioux City | 70 | $37,430 | $39,680 | $35,970 | $44,950 |
| Rapid City | 40 | $39,720 | $38,990 | $29,430 | $45,090 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 320 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in South Dakota with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in South Dakota is $39,560, which is $4,100 below the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |