How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 1,680 phlebotomy technicians earning a median $40,630 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Phlebotomy Technician here means completing an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Utah): $40,630/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Utah: 1,680 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.05x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.6% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Phlebotomy Technician Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 2 | Southwest Technical College | 73.4 | Contact school for pricing | $40,193 | 94% | — | 215 mi |
| 3 | Casper College | 62.5 | Contact school for pricing | $46,963 | Not reported | Yes* | 328 mi |
| 4 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 19 mi |
| 5 | Dixie Technical College | 58.7 | Contact school for pricing | $46,064 | 80% | — | 261 mi |
| 6 | San Juan College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,786 | Not reported | Yes* | 340 mi |
| 7 | Colorado Mountain College | 52.3 | $2,616 - $14,799 | $55,406 | 27% | Yes* | 259 mi |
| 8 | Utah Tech University | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,624 | Not reported | Yes* | 261 mi |
| 9 | Northwest Career College | 49.7 | Contact school for pricing | $36,673 | 67% | Yes* | 355 mi |
| 10 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 1,680 phlebotomy technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $40,630 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034, with about 18,400 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: approved phlebotomy program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required
- Exam: NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, or the exam the state accepts
- Median wage (Utah): $40,630 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Utah
How to become a Phlebotomy Technician in Utah? Complete an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish an approved phlebotomy program, a national exam, and state certification where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Utah? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do phlebotomy technicians earn in Utah? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Utah is $40,630 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,800 and experienced professionals can earn $47,420 or more 1.
How to Become a Phlebotomy Technician in Utah
- Meet entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm rules with the program.
- Complete an approved phlebotomy program. Finish a phlebotomy program in Utah. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass a national exam the state accepts. Most states use NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT. Confirm which exam the employer accepts where the state certifies phlebotomists.
- Apply for state certification where required. Apply for state certification where required. Confirm with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Phlebotomy Technician License Requirements in Utah
Most states do not license phlebotomists separately; employers want a national exam. Some states certify this role; most do not. Confirm with the employer when a state credential exists.
Typical path
Complete an approved phlebotomy program.
Pass a national exam the state accepts.
Apply to the employer when the state certifies phlebotomists.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Phlebotomy Technician Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Phlebotomists Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), phlebotomists wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 770 | $40,980 | $42,380 | $37,340 | $47,420 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 370 | $36,950 | $38,350 | $30,070 | $45,840 |
| Ogden | 250 | $40,110 | $41,070 | $36,220 | $48,820 |
| St. George | 140 | $40,760 | $40,660 | $35,110 | $52,420 |
| Logan | 50 | $41,200 | $39,830 | $34,990 | $47,450 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for phlebotomy technicians in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 1,680 phlebotomy technicians 1. Nationally, phlebotomy technician employment is projected to grow 5.6% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a phlebotomy technician in Utah with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.
How much do phlebotomy technicians earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for phlebotomy technicians in Utah is $40,630, which is $3,030 below the national median of $43,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Top local programs
- Best Phlebotomy Programs in Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Alpine, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in American Fork, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bluffdale, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Bountiful, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Brigham City, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cedar City, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cedar Hills, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Centerville, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clearfield, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Clinton, Utah (2026)
- Best Phlebotomy Schools in Cottonwood Heights, Utah (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |