How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Arizona (2026)
Arizona employs about 1,340 physical therapy aides earning a median $35,260 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Physical Therapy Aide here means completing short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations.
Compare Physical Therapy Aide Schools in Arizona
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Western Technical College | 60.1 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 282 mi |
| 2 | Pima Medical Institute-Tucson | 57.4 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | 72% | — | 34 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Pima Medical Institute-Mesa | 53.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | 65% | — | 65 mi |
| 4 | Eastern Arizona College | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $41,991 | 42% | Yes* | 82 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | GateWay Community College | 49.9 | Contact school for pricing | $70,264 | 24% | Yes* | 84 mi |
| 6 | El Paso Community College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $39,712 | 23% | Yes* | 286 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Mohave Community College | 45.0 | Contact school for pricing | $53,142 | 35% | Yes* | 244 mi |
| 8 | Brookline College-Phoenix | 37.8 | Contact school for pricing | $41,962 | 51% | Yes* | 83 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Brookline College-Tucson | 29.5 | Contact school for pricing | $41,962 | 48% | — | 36 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Arizona employs approximately 1,340 physical therapy aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $35,260 1. The state’s concentration of physical therapy aide jobs is 1.34x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Physical Therapy Aide in Arizona, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: on-the-job training under a PT or PTA (find programs)
- Typical timeline: short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations
- Exam: none for aides in most states
- Median wage (Arizona): $35,260 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Arizona
How to become a Physical Therapy Aide in Arizona? Complete short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Arizona? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect none for aides in most states. See the licensing section below.
What do physical therapy aides earn in Arizona? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in Arizona is $35,260 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $31,510 and experienced professionals can earn $44,630 or more 1.
How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Arizona
- Meet employer entry rules. Most aides need a high school diploma or GED. This is not a PT or PTA license path.
- Train on the job. Learn transfers, clinic setup, and patient support under a licensed PT or PTA. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not CAPTE PT school.
- Do not apply for a PT or PTA license. Physical therapists and PTAs are separately licensed. Aides are generally unlicensed. Confirm any rare state registration with the PT board without treating PT/PTA rows as the aide credential.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Physical Therapy Aide License Requirements in Arizona
Physical therapy aides in Arizona are generally unlicensed. PT and PTA licenses on CareerOneStop dumps are the wrong occupation.
Typical path
Train on the job under a PT or PTA.
Do not apply for a PT or PTA license as an aide.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Physical Therapy Aide Wages by Metro Area in Arizona
Physical Therapist Aides Wages by Metro Area in Arizona
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), physical therapist aides wages in Arizona vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler | 1,070 | $35,010 | $37,030 | $32,070 | $44,080 |
| Tucson | 110 | $36,550 | $39,600 | $31,300 | $50,490 |
| Prescott Valley-Prescott | 30 | $33,600 | $35,050 | $30,880 | $39,210 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for physical therapy aides in Arizona? Arizona currently employs approximately 1,340 physical therapy aides 1. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Arizona? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arizona.
How much do physical therapy aides earn in Arizona compared to the national average? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in Arizona is $35,260, which is $740 above the national median of $34,520 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Arizona
Top local programs
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Apache Junction, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Avondale, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Buckeye, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Bullhead City, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Camp Verde, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Casa Grande, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Chandler, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Chino Valley, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Coolidge, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Cottonwood, Arizona (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Douglas, Arizona (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arizona (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arizona
- Best HVAC Schools in Arizona (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arizona
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arizona (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arizona
Explore More Trades in Arizona
- Electrician in Arizona
- Plumber in Arizona
- HVAC Technician in Arizona
- Welder in Arizona
- Carpenter in Arizona
- Solar Installation Technician in Arizona
- Auto Mechanic in Arizona
- CNC Machinist in Arizona
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arizona
- Medical Assistant in Arizona
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |