How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Georgia (2026)

Georgia employs about 1,200 physical therapy aides earning a median $30,550 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Physical Therapy Aide here means completing short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations.

Compare Physical Therapy Aide Schools in Georgia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
154.3Contact school for pricing$47,299Not reportedYes*81 mi
252.1Contact school for pricing$45,209Not reportedYes*78 mi
Sponsored Ad
351.0Contact school for pricing$43,83533%Yes*90 mi
447.9Contact school for pricing$40,96446%Yes*61 mi
Sponsored Ad
547.2Contact school for pricing$43,81824%Yes*65 mi
646.5Contact school for pricing$42,97944%Yes*30 mi
Sponsored Ad
744.5Contact school for pricing$46,60139%Yes*64 mi
834.5Contact school for pricingNot reported22%Yes*94 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Georgia employs approximately 1,200 physical therapy aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $30,550 1. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Physical Therapy Aide in Georgia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: on-the-job training under a PT or PTA (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations
  • Exam: none for aides in most states
  • Median wage (Georgia): $30,550 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Georgia

How to become a Physical Therapy Aide in Georgia? Complete short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Georgia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect none for aides in most states. See the licensing section below.

What do physical therapy aides earn in Georgia? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in Georgia is $30,550 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $22,080 and experienced professionals can earn $38,680 or more 1.

How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in Georgia

  1. Meet employer entry rules. Most aides need a high school diploma or GED. This is not a PT or PTA license path.
  2. Train on the job. Learn transfers, clinic setup, and patient support under a licensed PT or PTA. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not CAPTE PT school.
  3. Do not apply for a PT or PTA license. Physical therapists and PTAs are separately licensed. Aides are generally unlicensed. Confirm any rare state registration with the PT board without treating PT/PTA rows as the aide credential.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Physical Therapy Aide License Requirements in Georgia

Physical therapy aides in Georgia are generally unlicensed. PT and PTA licenses on CareerOneStop dumps are the wrong occupation.

Typical path

  1. Train on the job under a PT or PTA.

  2. Do not apply for a PT or PTA license as an aide.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Physical Therapy Aide Wages by Metro Area in Georgia

Physical Therapist Aides Wages by Metro Area in Georgia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), physical therapist aides wages in Georgia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell720$33,570$32,160$22,580$39,000
Chattanooga110$28,610$29,500$20,740$37,330
Augusta-Richmond County60$29,910$33,170$21,240$65,840
Rome50$30,480$29,410$21,470$31,990
Savannah40$27,220$29,200$22,160$34,950

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for physical therapy aides in Georgia? Georgia currently employs approximately 1,200 physical therapy aides 1. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Georgia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Georgia.

How much do physical therapy aides earn in Georgia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in Georgia is $30,550, which is $3,970 below the national median of $34,520 according to BLS data 1.

In Georgia

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Georgia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)