How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in North Dakota (2026)
North Dakota employs about 120 physical therapy aides earning a median $37,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Physical Therapy Aide here means completing short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Dakota): $37,680/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Dakota: 120 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.89x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 2.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Physical Therapy Aide Schools in North Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Lake Area Technical College | 74.7 | Contact school for pricing | $49,488 | 69% | Yes* | 216 mi |
| 2 | Rasmussen University-North Dakota | 70.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | Not reported | Yes* | 147 mi |
| 3 | Northland Community and Technical College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,671 | 52% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 4 | Rasmussen University-Minnesota | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | 53% | Yes* | 296 mi |
| 5 | Anoka-Ramsey Community College | 46.3 | Contact school for pricing | $53,298 | Not reported | Yes* | 345 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Dakota employs approximately 120 physical therapy aides according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $37,680 1. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 6,600 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Physical Therapy Aide in North Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: on-the-job training under a PT or PTA (find programs)
- Typical timeline: short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations
- Exam: none for aides in most states
- Median wage (North Dakota): $37,680 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in North Dakota
How to become a Physical Therapy Aide in North Dakota? Complete short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish short on-the-job or employer training; aides are generally not licensed. Physical therapist and PTA licenses are different occupations. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in North Dakota? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect none for aides in most states. See the licensing section below.
What do physical therapy aides earn in North Dakota? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in North Dakota is $37,680 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $29,900 and experienced professionals can earn $56,430 or more 1.
How to Become a Physical Therapy Aide in North Dakota
- Meet employer entry rules. Most aides need a high school diploma or GED. This is not a PT or PTA license path.
- Train on the job. Learn transfers, clinic setup, and patient support under a licensed PT or PTA. This is not a registered apprenticeship and not CAPTE PT school.
- Do not apply for a PT or PTA license. Physical therapists and PTAs are separately licensed. Aides are generally unlicensed. Confirm any rare state registration with the PT board without treating PT/PTA rows as the aide credential.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Physical Therapy Aide License Requirements in North Dakota
Physical therapy aides in North Dakota are generally unlicensed. PT and PTA licenses on CareerOneStop dumps are the wrong occupation.
Typical path
Train on the job under a PT or PTA.
Do not apply for a PT or PTA license as an aide.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Physical Therapy Aide Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
Physical Therapist Aides Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), physical therapist aides wages in North Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fargo | 50 | $37,680 | $36,850 | $21,420 | $46,860 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for physical therapy aides in North Dakota? North Dakota currently employs approximately 120 physical therapy aides 1. Nationally, physical therapy aide employment is projected to grow 2.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in North Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Dakota.
How much do physical therapy aides earn in North Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for physical therapy aides in North Dakota is $37,680, which is $3,160 above the national median of $34,520 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Bismarck, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Dickinson, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Grand Forks, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Jamestown, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Mandan, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Minot, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Wahpeton, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in West Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Physical Therapy Aide Programs in Williston, North Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Dakota
Explore More Trades in North Dakota
- Electrician in North Dakota
- Plumber in North Dakota
- HVAC Technician in North Dakota
- Welder in North Dakota
- Carpenter in North Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in North Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in North Dakota
- CNC Machinist in North Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Dakota
- Medical Assistant in North Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |