How to Become a Pipefitter in District of Columbia (2026)

District of Columbia employs about 1,010 pipefitters earning a median $101,020 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most pipefitters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in District of Columbia.

Compare Pipefitter Schools in District of Columbia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.8Contact school for pricing$66,316Not reportedYes*160 mi
267.0Contact school for pricing$57,788Not reported87 mi
360.8Contact school for pricing$54,60774%80 mi
460.4Contact school for pricing$48,80489%135 mi
559.5Contact school for pricing$42,51068%168 mi
650.1$6,930 - $15,540$56,64722%Yes*114 mi
749.1Contact school for pricing$49,18728%Yes*164 mi
848.9Contact school for pricing$43,44581%141 mi
944.8Contact school for pricingNot reported70%120 mi
1043.0Contact school for pricing$49,521Not reportedYes*167 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

District of Columbia employs approximately 1,010 pipefitters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $101,020 1. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 44,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pipefitter in District of Columbia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (District of Columbia): $101,020 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Pipefitter in District of Columbia

How to become a Pipefitter in District of Columbia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pipefitters in District of Columbia.

How long does it take? Most paths into the pipefitter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do pipefitters earn in District of Columbia? The median annual wage for pipefitters in District of Columbia is $101,020 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $52,310 and experienced professionals can earn $117,180 or more 1.

How to Become a Pipefitter in District of Columbia

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most District of Columbia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in District of Columbia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in District of Columbia.
  4. Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in District of Columbia, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Pipefitter Apprenticeship Information in District of Columbia

Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. District of Columbia’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Employment Services 3.

Contact Information:

  • Office: D.C. Apprenticeship Council
  • Address: 4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE., Washington, DC 20001
  • Phone: (202) 724-7000
  • Email: [email protected]

Pipefitter Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia

Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters wages in District of Columbia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria9,420$71,860$75,090$47,480$114,400

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for pipefitters in District of Columbia? District of Columbia currently employs approximately 1,010 pipefitters 1. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in District of Columbia. You can also contact the Department of Employment Services for apprenticeship opportunities.

How much do pipefitters earn in District of Columbia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pipefitters in District of Columbia is $101,020, which is $38,050 above the national median of $62,970 according to BLS data 1.

In District of Columbia

Explore More Trades in District of Columbia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Employment Services: https://does.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/does/publication/attachments/DOES_Up-to%20date%20Non-Union%20Sponsors%202011.pdf ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)