How to Become a Pipefitter in Idaho (2026)
Idaho employs about 3,090 pipefitters earning a median $52,380 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most pipefitters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Idaho.
Compare Pipefitter Schools in Idaho
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 228 mi |
| 2 | College of Eastern Idaho | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,123 | 37% | Yes* | 145 mi |
| 3 | Perry Technical Institute | 65.3 | Contact school for pricing | $63,923 | 78% | — | 324 mi |
| 4 | Ogden-Weber Technical College | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,224 | 54% | Yes* | 252 mi |
| 5 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 305 mi |
| 6 | Western Nevada College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,403 | 39% | Yes* | 444 mi |
| 7 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 288 mi |
| 8 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 267 mi |
| 9 | North Idaho College | 46.4 | Contact school for pricing | $50,312 | 37% | Yes* | 253 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Idaho employs approximately 3,090 pipefitters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $52,380 1. The state’s concentration of pipefitter jobs is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 44,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pipefitter in Idaho, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Idaho): $52,380 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pipefitter in Idaho
How to become a Pipefitter in Idaho? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pipefitters in Idaho.
How long does it take? Most paths into the pipefitter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do pipefitters earn in Idaho? The median annual wage for pipefitters in Idaho is $52,380 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $39,430 and experienced professionals can earn $82,620 or more 1.
How to Become a Pipefitter in Idaho
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Idaho training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Idaho that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in Idaho.
- Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in Idaho, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pipefitter Apprenticeship Information in Idaho
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Idaho’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Idaho Department of Labor - Registered Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Idaho Office of Apprenticeship
- Address: 317 W. Main St., Boise, ID 97232
- Phone: (208) 332-3570
- Email: [email protected]
Pipefitter Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters Wages by Metro Area in Idaho
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters wages in Idaho vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boise City | 1,760 | $56,940 | $59,620 | $39,450 | $82,770 |
| Coeur d'Alene | 260 | $50,270 | $57,530 | $39,680 | $78,030 |
| Idaho Falls | 260 | $51,420 | $58,490 | $38,400 | $78,900 |
| Twin Falls | 180 | $50,700 | $52,990 | $36,740 | $77,600 |
| Logan | 170 | $60,390 | $59,990 | $38,790 | $76,530 |
| Pocatello | 100 | $50,020 | $55,960 | $38,950 | $70,580 |
| Lewiston | 70 | $55,240 | $63,440 | $38,390 | $109,420 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pipefitters in Idaho? Idaho currently employs approximately 3,090 pipefitters 1. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Idaho? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Idaho. You can also contact the Idaho Department of Labor - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do pipefitters earn in Idaho compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pipefitters in Idaho is $52,380, which is $10,590 below the national median of $62,970 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Idaho
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Idaho
- Best HVAC Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Idaho
- Best Plumbing Schools in Idaho (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Idaho
Explore More Trades in Idaho
- Electrician in Idaho
- Plumber in Idaho
- HVAC Technician in Idaho
- Welder in Idaho
- Carpenter in Idaho
- Solar Installation Technician in Idaho
- Auto Mechanic in Idaho
- CNC Machinist in Idaho
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Idaho
- Medical Assistant in Idaho
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Idaho Department of Labor - Registered Apprenticeship: https://labor.idaho.gov/dnn/Job-Seekers/On-the-Job-Training/Apprenticeships ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |