How to Become a Pipefitter in Utah (2026)
Utah employs about 7,030 pipefitters earning a median $61,900 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most pipefitters train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Utah.
Compare Pipefitter Schools in Utah
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Emily Griffith Technical College | 74.9 | Contact school for pricing | $45,935 | 92% | — | 376 mi |
| 2 | Bridgerland Technical College | 73.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,070 | Not reported | Yes* | 75 mi |
| 3 | College of Eastern Idaho | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,123 | 37% | Yes* | 193 mi |
| 4 | Red Rocks Community College | 64.2 | Contact school for pricing | $62,695 | 35% | Yes* | 367 mi |
| 5 | Ogden-Weber Technical College | 63.7 | Contact school for pricing | $47,224 | 54% | Yes* | 41 mi |
| 6 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 19 mi |
| 7 | Dixie Technical College | 58.7 | Contact school for pricing | $46,064 | 80% | — | 261 mi |
| 8 | Salt Lake Community College | 51.6 | Contact school for pricing | $55,279 | 29% | Yes* | 3 mi |
| 9 | Davis Technical College | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,706 | Not reported | — | 25 mi |
| 10 | College of Southern Nevada | 46.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,080 | 19% | Yes* | 358 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Utah employs approximately 7,030 pipefitters according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $61,900 1. The state’s concentration of pipefitter jobs is 1.35x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 44,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Pipefitter in Utah, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Utah): $61,900 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Pipefitter in Utah
How to become a Pipefitter in Utah? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for pipefitters in Utah.
How long does it take? Most paths into the pipefitter field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do pipefitters earn in Utah? The median annual wage for pipefitters in Utah is $61,900 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $43,860 and experienced professionals can earn $83,120 or more 1.
How to Become a Pipefitter in Utah
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Utah training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Utah that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in Utah.
- Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in Utah, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Pipefitter Apprenticeship Information in Utah
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Utah’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Salt Lake City Field Office
- Address: 125 S. State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84138
- Email: [email protected]
Pipefitter Wages by Metro Area in Utah
Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters Wages by Metro Area in Utah
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters wages in Utah vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salt Lake City-Murray | 3,190 | $64,800 | $67,790 | $47,870 | $88,310 |
| Provo-Orem-Lehi | 1,450 | $57,130 | $59,060 | $40,540 | $78,420 |
| Ogden | 1,310 | $64,860 | $65,130 | $40,540 | $83,370 |
| St. George | 370 | $56,730 | $57,030 | $38,040 | $75,840 |
| Logan | 170 | $60,390 | $59,990 | $38,790 | $76,530 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for pipefitters in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 7,030 pipefitters 1. Nationally, pipefitter employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah. You can also contact the Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do pipefitters earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for pipefitters in Utah is $61,900, which is $1,070 below the national median of $62,970 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Utah
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Utah
- Best HVAC Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Utah
- Best Plumbing Schools in Utah (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Utah
Explore More Trades in Utah
- Electrician in Utah
- Plumber in Utah
- HVAC Technician in Utah
- Welder in Utah
- Carpenter in Utah
- Solar Installation Technician in Utah
- Auto Mechanic in Utah
- CNC Machinist in Utah
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Utah
- Medical Assistant in Utah
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Workforce Services - Office of Apprenticeship: https://jobs.utah.gov/jsp/utjobs/seeker/ra ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |