How to Become a Plumber in District of Columbia (2026)
District of Columbia employs about 1,010 plumbers earning a median $101,020 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most plumbers train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in District of Columbia.
Compare Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pennsylvania College of Technology | 71.8 | $18,240 in-state / $25,980 out-of-state | $66,316 | 53% | Yes* | 161 mi |
| 2 | Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology | 67.0 | $9,050 | $57,788 | 71% | — | 88 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Polytech Adult Education | 60.8 | Contact school for pricing | $54,607 | 70% | — | 81 mi |
| 4 | Orleans Technical College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | $48,804 | 90% | — | 135 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Delaware County Community College | 50.1 | $6,930 in-state / $15,540 out-of-state | $56,647 | 24% | Yes* | 114 mi |
| 6 | Westmoreland County Community College | 49.1 | $6,018 in-state / $14,424 out-of-state | $49,187 | 31% | Yes* | 164 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Pennco Tech-Bristol | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,445 | 84% | — | 142 mi |
| 8 | Berks Career & Technology Center | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 62% | — | 121 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Luzerne County Community College | 43.0 | $6,600 in-state / $16,260 out-of-state | $49,521 | 23% | Yes* | 167 mi |
| 10 | Lehigh Career & Technical Institute | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 143 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
District of Columbia employs approximately 1,010 plumbers according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $101,020 1. Nationally, plumber employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 44,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Plumber in District of Columbia, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (District of Columbia): $101,020 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Plumber in District of Columbia
How to become a Plumber in District of Columbia? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for plumbers in District of Columbia.
How long does it take? Most paths into the plumber field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do plumbers earn in District of Columbia? The median annual wage for plumbers in District of Columbia is $101,020 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $52,310 and experienced professionals can earn $117,180 or more 1.
How to Become a Plumber in District of Columbia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most District of Columbia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in District of Columbia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in District of Columbia.
- Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in District of Columbia, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the apprenticeship sponsor or state apprenticeship office.
Plumber Apprenticeship Information in District of Columbia
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. District of Columbia’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Employment Services 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: D.C. Apprenticeship Council
- Address: 4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE., Washington, DC 20001
- Phone: (202) 724-7000
- Email: [email protected]
Federal Prevailing Wage in District of Columbia
Under the Davis-Bacon Act, plumbers working on federally funded construction projects in District of Columbia earn a prevailing wage set by the U.S. Department of Labor. Recent District of Columbia general wage determinations show approximately $53.30 per hour in base pay plus $23.71 per hour in fringe benefits, for an effective hourly rate of about $77.01 (Source: DOL Wage and Hour Division, Davis-Bacon wage determinations, 2026) 4.
Prevailing wages apply to federal construction contracts above the Davis-Bacon threshold and may differ from typical private-sector pay reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Rates also vary by county and by classification within plumber work.
Plumber Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), plumbers, pipefitters, and steamfitters wages in District of Columbia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 9,420 | $71,860 | $75,090 | $47,480 | $114,400 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for plumbers in District of Columbia? District of Columbia currently employs approximately 1,010 plumbers 1. Nationally, plumber employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in District of Columbia. You can also contact the Department of Employment Services for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do plumbers earn in District of Columbia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for plumbers in District of Columbia is $101,020, which is $38,050 above the national median of $62,970 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Top local programs
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington, District of Columbia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maryland
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
Explore More Trades in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- HVAC Technician in District of Columbia
- Welder in District of Columbia
- Carpenter in District of Columbia
- Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
- Auto Mechanic in District of Columbia
- CNC Machinist in District of Columbia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in District of Columbia
- Medical Assistant in District of Columbia
- Massage Therapist in District of Columbia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Employment Services: https://does.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/does/publication/attachments/DOES_Up-to%20date%20Non-Union%20Sponsors%202011.pdf ↩︎
U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division - Davis-Bacon General Wage Determinations: https://sam.gov/wage-determinations ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |