How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 19,660 procurement and purchasing specialists earning a median $78,470 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most procurement and purchasing specialists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Illinois.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Illinois): $78,470/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Illinois: 19,660 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.02x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kishwaukee College | 66.2 | $4,560 - $13,901 | $49,273 | 42% | Yes* | 64 mi |
| 2 | Illinois Valley Community College | 58.3 | $4,200 - $16,385 | $48,989 | 43% | Yes* | 22 mi |
| 3 | Triton College | 54.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,701 | Not reported | Yes* | 85 mi |
| 4 | Illinois Central College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,058 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 5 | DeVry University-Illinois | 39.0 | Contact school for pricing | $63,172 | 37% | Yes* | 70 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Illinois employs approximately 19,660 procurement and purchasing specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $78,470 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in Illinois, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Purchasing Managers Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), purchasing managers wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 17,510 | $92,722 | $97,856 | $60,545 | $145,436 |
| St. Louis | 5,300 | $81,485 | $87,260 | $53,717 | $129,856 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 1,510 | $92,641 | $96,683 | $59,425 | $138,081 |
| Peoria | 930 | $114,391 | $115,903 | $65,837 | $189,492 |
| Rockford | 520 | $82,936 | $86,478 | $54,390 | $126,068 |
| Champaign-Urbana | 340 | $79,818 | $81,517 | $55,502 | $111,783 |
| Bloomington | 260 | $75,420 | $80,440 | $48,250 | $108,920 |
| Springfield | 250 | $81,766 | $86,699 | $52,066 | $128,794 |
| Cape Girardeau | 140 | $57,790 | $60,610 | $43,320 | $79,980 |
| Paducah | 120 | $59,990 | $65,470 | $39,740 | $90,880 |
| Decatur | 100 | $73,780 | $83,410 | $49,450 | $137,390 |
| Kankakee | 100 | $65,490 | $75,800 | $47,440 | $114,660 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Illinois): $78,470 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Illinois
How to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in Illinois? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for procurement and purchasing specialists in Illinois.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Illinois? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Illinois is $78,470 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,710 and experienced professionals can earn $126,640 or more 1.
How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Illinois
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Illinois training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Illinois that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to procurement and purchasing specialists in Illinois before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for procurement and purchasing specialists in Illinois? Illinois currently employs approximately 19,660 procurement and purchasing specialists 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Illinois.
How much do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Illinois is $78,470, which is $2,820 above the national median of $75,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |