How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Nevada (2026)

Nevada employs about 2,310 procurement and purchasing specialists earning a median $72,990 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most procurement and purchasing specialists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Nevada.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Nevada): $72,990/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Nevada: 2,310 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.47x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 5.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Schools in Nevada

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.0Contact school for pricing$55,26130%Yes*184 mi
252.2Contact school for pricingNot reported83%171 mi
351.6Contact school for pricing$55,624Not reportedYes*200 mi
445.3Contact school for pricing$42,21135%Yes*168 mi
541.6$1,334 - $16,881$42,64442%161 mi
641.3Contact school for pricing$46,88524%170 mi
735.4Contact school for pricing$48,06452%152 mi
8Not ratedContact school for pricing$42,21156%168 mi
9Not ratedContact school for pricing$42,21155%168 mi
10Not ratedContact school for pricing$42,21173%192 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Nevada employs approximately 2,310 procurement and purchasing specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $72,990 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in Nevada, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Wages by Metro Area in Nevada

Purchasing Managers Wages by Metro Area in Nevada

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), purchasing managers wages in Nevada vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas1,900$80,337$84,973$54,601$121,672
Reno550$77,716$82,125$54,990$112,735
Carson City70$73,230$78,690$54,390$104,310

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Nevada): $72,990 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Nevada

How to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in Nevada? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for procurement and purchasing specialists in Nevada.

How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Nevada? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Nevada is $72,990 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $50,120 and experienced professionals can earn $104,730 or more 1.

How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Nevada

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Nevada training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Nevada that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to procurement and purchasing specialists in Nevada before you start working.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for procurement and purchasing specialists in Nevada? Nevada currently employs approximately 2,310 procurement and purchasing specialists 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Nevada? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in Nevada.

How much do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Nevada compared to the national average? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Nevada is $72,990, which is $2,660 below the national median of $75,650 according to BLS data 1.

In Nevada

Explore More Trades in Nevada

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)