How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 14,290 procurement and purchasing specialists earning a median $75,880 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most procurement and purchasing specialists train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in North Carolina.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Carolina): $75,880/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Carolina: 14,290 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.92x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 5.8% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Patrick & Henry Community College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $44,016 | 43% | Yes* | 89 mi |
| 2 | Rowan-Cabarrus Community College | 47.2 | Contact school for pricing | $43,916 | 33% | Yes* | 43 mi |
| 3 | Danville Community College | 46.4 | $4,992 - $14,126 | $40,486 | 39% | Yes* | 79 mi |
| 4 | York Technical College | 40.4 | Contact school for pricing | $47,738 | Not reported | — | 79 mi |
| 5 | Florence-Darlington Technical College | 35.7 | Contact school for pricing | $44,978 | 27% | — | 84 mi |
| 6 | St. Andrews University | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 52 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 14,290 procurement and purchasing specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $75,880 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in North Carolina, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Purchasing Managers Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), purchasing managers wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 5,120 | $89,169 | $97,153 | $58,283 | $148,565 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 4,890 | $85,909 | $93,429 | $55,656 | $132,556 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 2,530 | $89,431 | $97,584 | $59,734 | $148,672 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill | 1,470 | $93,353 | $103,338 | $64,793 | $148,468 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 1,380 | $81,591 | $87,461 | $52,392 | $129,844 |
| Winston-Salem | 810 | $78,974 | $84,919 | $51,774 | $126,358 |
| Asheville | 580 | $71,776 | $81,114 | $49,877 | $120,077 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 560 | $75,047 | $82,736 | $51,804 | $120,544 |
| Wilmington | 460 | $80,573 | $86,357 | $50,042 | $127,563 |
| Fayetteville | 380 | $81,524 | $85,685 | $43,712 | $128,961 |
| Burlington | 190 | $82,445 | $88,318 | $51,941 | $134,058 |
| Rocky Mount | 190 | $62,350 | $68,750 | $43,570 | $93,990 |
| Greenville | 140 | $70,000 | $75,120 | $45,480 | $109,690 |
| Jacksonville | 130 | $73,920 | $79,380 | $48,680 | $115,210 |
| Goldsboro | 100 | $74,680 | $79,650 | $42,310 | $121,040 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 60 | $70,040 | $75,750 | $39,330 | $116,580 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (North Carolina): $75,880 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in North Carolina
How to become a procurement and purchasing specialist in North Carolina? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for procurement and purchasing specialists in North Carolina.
How long does it take? Most paths take 1 to 5 years depending on whether you choose trade school, an apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in North Carolina is $75,880 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,440 and experienced professionals can earn $127,860 or more 1.
How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in North Carolina
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most North Carolina training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an accredited trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in North Carolina that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Meet state and employer requirements. Confirm any registration, certification, or employer requirements that apply to procurement and purchasing specialists in North Carolina before you start working.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for procurement and purchasing specialists in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 14,290 procurement and purchasing specialists 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for accredited programs in North Carolina.
How much do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in North Carolina is $75,880, which is $230 above the national median of $75,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |