How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in South Carolina (2026)
South Carolina employs about 6,150 procurement and purchasing specialists earning a median $75,550 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist here means completing a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role.
Compare Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Schools in South Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Orangeburg Calhoun Technical College | 51.5 | $5,210 in-state / $8,354 out-of-state | $53,084 | 32% | Yes* | 14 mi |
| 2 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | $4,468 in-state / $8,836 out-of-state | $46,000 | 38% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 3 | Williamsburg Technical College | 41.4 | $4,488 in-state / $8,592 out-of-state | Not reported | 15% | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 4 | York Technical College | 40.4 | $8,036 in-state / $13,340 out-of-state | $47,738 | 30% | — | 84 mi |
| 5 | Florence-Darlington Technical College | 35.7 | $4,636 in-state / $6,772 out-of-state | $44,978 | 34% | — | 64 mi |
| 6 | Technical College of the Lowcountry | 27.4 | $6,156 in-state / $11,916 out-of-state | $47,361 | 18% | Yes* | 91 mi |
| 7 | Denmark Technical College | 16.3 | $6,315 in-state / $11,955 out-of-state | $28,350 | 12% | — | 36 mi |
| 8 | Limestone University | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | $51,758 | 32% | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 9 | St. Andrews University | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 101 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Carolina employs approximately 6,150 procurement and purchasing specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $75,550 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in South Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: short purchasing, procurement, or supply-chain course (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role
- Median wage (South Carolina): $75,550 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in South Carolina
How to become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in South Carolina? Complete a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in South Carolina? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the South Carolina path.
What do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in South Carolina? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in South Carolina is $75,550 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $45,700 and experienced professionals can earn $123,340 or more 1.
How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in South Carolina
- Complete a short purchasing course or train on the job. Finish a procurement or supply-chain certificate, or learn inside a purchasing department. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Optional purchasing certificates. Industry purchasing certificates can help hiring. They are not a state occupational license.
- Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Contractor licenses are a different credential.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Procurement and Purchasing Specialist License Requirements in South Carolina
Most states do not license procurement or purchasing managers. The path is a short course or on-the-job training, not a licensing board.
Typical path
Complete a short course or OJT.
Optional purchasing certificates.
Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
Purchasing Managers Wages by Metro Area in South Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), purchasing managers wages in South Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 5,120 | $89,169 | $97,153 | $58,283 | $148,565 |
| Charleston-North Charleston | 1,520 | $90,360 | $97,314 | $55,862 | $144,705 |
| Greenville-Anderson-Greer | 1,480 | $78,592 | $85,654 | $48,901 | $130,940 |
| Columbia | 1,010 | $77,060 | $82,392 | $50,314 | $120,393 |
| Augusta-Richmond County | 630 | $81,012 | $88,088 | $48,921 | $134,228 |
| Spartanburg | 460 | $81,605 | $87,890 | $54,638 | $128,331 |
| Myrtle Beach-Conway-North Myrtle Beach | 280 | $69,500 | $76,400 | $39,240 | $143,300 |
| Florence | 220 | $76,645 | $79,775 | $46,027 | $122,509 |
| Hilton Head Island-Bluffton-Port Royal | 150 | $65,770 | $78,390 | $43,350 | $129,960 |
| Sumter | 100 | $79,030 | $81,740 | $41,920 | $121,370 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for procurement and purchasing specialists in South Carolina? South Carolina currently employs approximately 6,150 procurement and purchasing specialists 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in South Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Carolina.
How much do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in South Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in South Carolina is $75,550, which is $100 below the national median of $75,650 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Carolina
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Carolina
Explore More Trades in South Carolina
- Electrician in South Carolina
- Plumber in South Carolina
- HVAC Technician in South Carolina
- Welder in South Carolina
- Carpenter in South Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in South Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in South Carolina
- CNC Machinist in South Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Carolina
- Medical Assistant in South Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |