How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Texas (2026)

Texas employs about 44,030 procurement and purchasing specialists earning a median $76,050 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist here means completing a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role.

Compare Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Schools in Texas

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
149.3$4,710 in-state / $7,140 out-of-state$46,19130%Yes*104 mi
245.4$3,412 in-state / $9,952 out-of-state$38,44333%Yes*139 mi
342.3$3,412 in-state / $9,952 out-of-state$47,34126%Yes*130 mi
435.8Contact school for pricingNot reported61%Yes*131 mi
531.7Contact school for pricing$22,73761%—136 mi
630.9Contact school for pricingNot reported53%Yes*131 mi
730.2Contact school for pricing$32,68045%Yes*47 mi
828.8Contact school for pricing$32,68053%Yes*70 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Texas employs approximately 44,030 procurement and purchasing specialists according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $76,050 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034, with about 52,200 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Texas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: short purchasing, procurement, or supply-chain course (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role
  • Median wage (Texas): $76,050 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Texas

How to become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Texas? Complete a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a short purchasing or supply-chain course plus workplace experience; most states do not license this role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Texas? Licensing varies. See the licensing section below for the Texas path.

What do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Texas? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Texas is $76,050 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $47,760 and experienced professionals can earn $124,140 or more 1.

How to Become a Procurement and Purchasing Specialist in Texas

  1. Complete a short purchasing course or train on the job. Finish a procurement or supply-chain certificate, or learn inside a purchasing department. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  2. Optional purchasing certificates. Industry purchasing certificates can help hiring. They are not a state occupational license.
  3. Most states do not license this role. Do not apply to a licensing board. Contractor licenses are a different credential.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Procurement and Purchasing Specialist License Requirements in Texas

Most states do not license procurement or purchasing managers. The path is a short course or on-the-job training, not a licensing board.

Typical path

  1. Complete a short course or OJT.

  2. Optional purchasing certificates.

  3. Do not apply to a licensing board for this role.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Procurement and Purchasing Specialist Wages by Metro Area in Texas

Purchasing Managers Wages by Metro Area in Texas

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), purchasing managers wages in Texas vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington17,560$90,728$97,334$58,500$144,411
Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands13,510$88,508$94,660$56,393$141,387
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos5,270$88,386$94,875$58,496$140,541
San Antonio-New Braunfels4,460$87,495$93,457$53,400$138,175
El Paso940$67,177$73,765$45,157$110,847
Beaumont-Port Arthur620$84,862$90,403$52,206$136,232
Waco570$82,393$83,097$53,805$109,467
Amarillo560$77,960$78,614$50,161$103,424
Corpus Christi550$70,539$78,807$44,303$123,490
Killeen-Temple550$72,221$80,259$48,109$123,125
McAllen-Edinburg-Mission500$63,206$67,997$40,605$104,121
Lubbock410$64,984$69,329$41,565$101,647
Midland380$85,707$94,619$55,487$145,263
Longview340$75,264$80,275$52,100$111,736
Brownsville-Harlingen270$66,796$73,947$46,837$103,075
College Station-Bryan260$70,142$78,685$47,866$120,668
Tyler250$72,084$79,670$47,192$122,252
Odessa230$71,748$80,177$48,608$118,693
Laredo190$50,090$55,170$24,490$94,920
Wichita Falls180$73,920$72,840$44,540$100,420
Abilene140$64,480$71,390$39,640$109,220
Texarkana130$60,390$67,210$37,940$99,980
San Angelo100$61,990$70,840$43,700$105,730
Sherman-Denison100$60,730$69,580$42,920$104,990
Victoria90$63,340$70,870$43,200$101,480

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for procurement and purchasing specialists in Texas? Texas currently employs approximately 44,030 procurement and purchasing specialists 1. Nationally, procurement and purchasing specialist employment is projected to grow 5.8% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Texas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Texas.

How much do procurement and purchasing specialists earn in Texas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for procurement and purchasing specialists in Texas is $76,050, which is $400 above the national median of $75,650 according to BLS data 1.

In Texas

Explore More Trades in Texas

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)