How to Become a Radiology Technician in California (2026)

California employs about 20,900 radiology technicians earning a median $121,260 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section.

Compare Radiology Technician Schools in California

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
171.5Contact school for pricing$48,980Not reportedYes*119 mi
269.4Contact school for pricing$72,58169%Yes*107 mi
Sponsored Ad
368.8Contact school for pricingNot reportedNot reported65 mi
465.2Contact school for pricing$77,59944%87 mi
Sponsored Ad
556.7Contact school for pricing$63,51434%Yes*72 mi
645.6Contact school for pricing$44,04572%93 mi
Sponsored Ad
743.6Contact school for pricing$42,96974%117 mi
841.3Contact school for pricing$46,88524%94 mi
Sponsored Ad
940.9Contact school for pricing$46,72333%92 mi
1036.5Contact school for pricing$52,02827%Yes*116 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

California employs approximately 20,900 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $121,260 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in California, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in California

How to become a Radiology Technician in California? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section.

How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section.

Do I need a license in California? Yes. California credentials this role through Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section 3. See the licensing section below.

What do radiology technicians earn in California? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in California is $121,260 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $70,210 and experienced professionals can earn $165,460 or more 1.

How to Become a Radiology Technician in California

  1. Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in California typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in California. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
  4. Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Radiology Technician License Requirements in California

Radiologic technologists in California typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet program entry rules.

  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.

  3. Pass ARRT(R).

  4. Apply to Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section for CRT or the state equivalent when required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section before you enroll.

Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in California

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in California

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in California vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim6,450$108,030$111,450$64,070$154,860
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont2,850$141,780$138,390$89,980$176,800
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario2,140$105,190$107,610$71,970$133,950
San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad1,770$113,480$111,860$65,440$149,390
Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom1,360$135,880$127,380$64,480$172,400
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara1,000$154,850$151,170$98,910$185,340
Fresno760$107,350$108,530$74,580$149,280
Bakersfield-Delano450$99,210$98,320$68,790$124,790
Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura390$107,650$103,340$62,160$135,080
Modesto370$129,030$127,310$78,660$172,850
Stockton-Lodi280$128,480$121,340$77,820$174,390
Vallejo270$160,380$150,010$103,130$175,430
Santa Maria-Santa Barbara250$110,770$112,990$62,310$140,020
Santa Rosa-Petaluma200$137,530$137,780$85,830$174,150
Visalia170$98,610$100,090$74,870$128,930
Chico150$103,000$98,810$48,900$133,060
Salinas150$102,330$102,060$62,910$129,920
Santa Cruz-Watsonville110$129,920$117,390$62,650$164,890
Redding90$129,960$118,800$65,850$168,160
Merced80$101,400$104,160$57,070$159,200
San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles80$103,670$101,600$63,340$134,020
El Centro60$92,000$93,350$80,570$123,340
Hanford-Corcoran60$98,120$90,680$56,310$120,620
Napa40$128,170$111,860$67,890$139,940

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in California? California currently employs approximately 20,900 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a radiology technician in California with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in California? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in California.

How much do radiology technicians earn in California compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in California is $121,260, which is $43,600 above the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.

In California

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in California

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Public Health - Radiologic Health Branch - Registration and Certification Section - Licensing Information: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DRSEM/Pages/RHB.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)