How to Become a Radiology Technician in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 16,470 radiology technicians earning a median $76,750 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Florida): $76,750/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Florida: 16,470 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.12x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.6Contact school for pricing$54,088Not reportedYes*67 mi
273.8$3,165 - $11,859$48,61949%Yes*19 mi
365.7Contact school for pricing$51,981Not reportedYes*74 mi
463.6$2,496 - $11,966$49,05352%Yes*59 mi
561.2Contact school for pricing$49,78434%Yes*54 mi
654.3Contact school for pricing$53,180Not reportedYes*15 mi
749.2Contact school for pricing$40,85464%Yes*74 mi
848.4Contact school for pricing$55,92237%Yes*69 mi
946.9$13,450 - $26,664$58,57539%Yes*55 mi
1046.8$2,664 - $18,529$46,93746%46 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 16,470 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $76,750 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Florida

How to become a Radiology Technician in Florida? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Do I need a license in Florida? Yes. Florida credentials this role through FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3. See the licensing section below.

What do radiology technicians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Florida is $76,750 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $51,390 and experienced professionals can earn $99,020 or more 1.

How to Become a Radiology Technician in Florida

  1. Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Florida typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Florida. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
  4. Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Radiology Technician License Requirements in Florida

Radiologic technologists in Florida typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet program entry rules.

  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.

  3. Pass ARRT(R).

  4. Apply to FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for CRT or the state equivalent when required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance before you enroll.

Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach4,630$78,890$77,840$51,640$103,150
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater2,610$77,430$76,870$51,550$100,870
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford2,040$76,320$74,110$55,660$96,440
Jacksonville1,360$77,110$73,190$50,850$96,030
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota610$81,480$77,940$51,860$106,380
Cape Coral-Fort Myers520$77,390$75,440$52,480$100,150
Lakeland-Winter Haven520$68,910$70,800$52,090$83,830
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach480$65,950$69,230$50,950$81,970
Gainesville450$78,140$74,440$56,010$95,550
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent370$70,930$70,030$51,060$93,000
Port St. Lucie370$80,270$75,880$52,990$96,210
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville360$77,190$75,580$55,570$99,570
Ocala320$55,980$59,860$40,910$76,260
Naples-Marco Island280$77,940$73,180$46,800$89,250
Tallahassee240$62,160$66,660$50,660$79,960
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin190$63,880$66,520$47,360$82,600
Punta Gorda150$71,050$72,890$60,860$96,540
Panama City-Panama City Beach130$62,640$66,740$47,510$91,530
Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor130$63,990$67,690$43,250$81,990
Wildwood-The Villages120$68,830$67,990$50,410$91,170
Sebring110$67,420$67,110$34,760$82,270
Homosassa Springs80$72,630$69,620$49,190$90,360

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 16,470 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a radiology technician in Florida with an out-of-state license? Contact the FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do radiology technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Florida is $76,750, which is $910 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. FL Department of Health - Division of Medical Quality Assurance - Licensing Information: https://www.doh.state.fl.us/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)