How to Become a Radiology Technician in Indiana (2026)
Indiana employs about 5,470 radiology technicians earning a median $77,640 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services.
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Indiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | John Patrick University of Health and Applied Sciences | 54.1 | $20,605 | $121,617 | Not reported | Yes* | 90 mi |
| 2 | Kankakee Community College | 53.4 | $5,220 in-state / $25,830 out-of-state | $50,343 | 32% | Yes* | 100 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Ivy Tech Community College | 49.2 | $5,154 in-state / $9,935 out-of-state | $53,369 | 40% | Yes* | 40 mi |
| 4 | Stellar Career College-Crown Point | 42.6 | Contact school for pricing | $36,035 | Not reported | Yes* | 95 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Danville Area Community College | 41.5 | $4,440 in-state / $7,440 out-of-state | $47,299 | 45% | — | 76 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Indiana employs approximately 5,470 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $77,640 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Indiana, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (Indiana): $77,640 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Indiana
How to become a Radiology Technician in Indiana? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services.
Do I need a license in Indiana? Yes. Indiana credentials this role through Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in Indiana? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Indiana is $77,640 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $51,090 and experienced professionals can earn $99,580 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in Indiana
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Indiana typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Indiana. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in Indiana
Radiologic technologists in Indiana typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Indiana
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Indiana vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 5,650 | $82,140 | $83,590 | $60,130 | $106,150 |
| Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood | 1,870 | $79,100 | $77,500 | $57,200 | $101,640 |
| Cincinnati | 1,650 | $79,270 | $77,630 | $61,680 | $98,450 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 1,200 | $76,860 | $79,530 | $57,970 | $103,630 |
| Fort Wayne | 370 | $76,840 | $71,900 | $56,680 | $89,720 |
| Evansville | 310 | $70,830 | $72,140 | $49,380 | $101,150 |
| South Bend-Mishawaka | 250 | $74,930 | $72,270 | $54,070 | $90,290 |
| Lafayette-West Lafayette | 160 | $78,570 | $78,180 | $51,250 | $104,520 |
| Terre Haute | 160 | $75,870 | $74,390 | $53,770 | $103,720 |
| Bloomington | 140 | $73,130 | $70,820 | $56,090 | $91,600 |
| Elkhart-Goshen | 140 | $68,380 | $70,000 | $43,010 | $83,450 |
| Muncie | 90 | $61,680 | $65,510 | $46,770 | $80,150 |
| Kokomo | 70 | $79,330 | $80,790 | $58,910 | $100,780 |
| Michigan City-La Porte | 70 | $75,280 | $71,980 | $40,050 | $96,300 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Indiana? Indiana currently employs approximately 5,470 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in Indiana with an out-of-state license? Contact the Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Indiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Indiana.
How much do radiology technicians earn in Indiana compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Indiana is $77,640, which is $20 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Indiana
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Anderson, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Angola, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Auburn, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Avon, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bedford, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Beech Grove, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bloomington, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bluffton, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Brownsburg, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Carmel, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Cedar Lake, Indiana (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Chesterton, Indiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Indiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Indiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Indiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Indiana
Explore More Trades in Indiana
- Electrician in Indiana
- Plumber in Indiana
- HVAC Technician in Indiana
- Welder in Indiana
- Carpenter in Indiana
- Solar Installation Technician in Indiana
- Auto Mechanic in Indiana
- CNC Machinist in Indiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Indiana
- Medical Assistant in Indiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Indiana State Department of Health - Medical Radiology Services - Licensing Information: http://www.in.gov/isdh/23279.htm ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |