How to Become a Radiology Technician in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 2,550 radiology technicians earning a median $65,930 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs.
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science | 82.8 | $3,257 | $77,244 | Not reported | — | 118 mi |
| 2 | Riverland Community College | 59.3 | $6,298 | $49,768 | 52% | Yes* | 88 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | North Iowa Area Community College | 57.1 | $6,653 in-state / $9,551 out-of-state | $47,068 | 61% | Yes* | 52 mi |
| 4 | Northeast Iowa Community College | 56.6 | $6,780 in-state / $7,770 out-of-state | $50,002 | 51% | Yes* | 88 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | $5,040 in-state / $6,120 out-of-state | $50,322 | 40% | Yes* | 105 mi |
| 6 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | $5,496 in-state / $7,788 out-of-state | $46,682 | 42% | Yes* | 48 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Rochester Community and Technical College | 50.7 | $6,389 | $55,258 | 29% | Yes* | 119 mi |
| 8 | UnityPoint Health-Des Moines School of Radiologic Technology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 60 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Mercy-St Luke's School of Radiologic Technology | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 88 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 2,550 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $65,930 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (Iowa): $65,930 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Iowa
How to become a Radiology Technician in Iowa? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa credentials this role through Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Iowa is $65,930 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $54,360 and experienced professionals can earn $86,520 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in Iowa
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Iowa typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Iowa. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in Iowa
Radiologic technologists in Iowa typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 830 | $76,600 | $75,620 | $57,960 | $100,710 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 560 | $67,640 | $71,620 | $58,450 | $86,520 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 280 | $64,580 | $67,560 | $51,860 | $80,140 |
| Iowa City | 240 | $65,820 | $74,030 | $54,360 | $105,570 |
| Cedar Rapids | 230 | $64,880 | $68,010 | $53,240 | $83,060 |
| Sioux City | 150 | $64,260 | $66,230 | $51,600 | $78,720 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 150 | $64,370 | $68,100 | $48,800 | $81,790 |
| Dubuque | 100 | $74,530 | $70,030 | $60,000 | $80,780 |
| Ames | 90 | $66,760 | $65,540 | $50,260 | $82,530 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 2,550 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Contact the Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa.
How much do radiology technicians earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Iowa is $65,930, which is $11,730 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Altoona, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Ames, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Ankeny, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bettendorf, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Boone, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Burlington, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Cedar Falls, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Clinton, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Clive, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Coralville, Iowa (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Council Bluffs, Iowa (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Radiological Health - Health & Human Services - IDPH Regulatory Programs - Licensing Information: https://hhs.iowa.gov/public-health/radiological-health ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |