How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Carolina (2026)

North Carolina employs about 9,250 radiology technicians earning a median $74,450 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (North Carolina): $74,450/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in North Carolina: 9,250 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.26x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Radiology Technician Schools in North Carolina

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
179.6Contact school for pricing$62,531Not reportedYes*48 mi
258.9Contact school for pricing$43,95250%Yes*25 mi
355.3Contact school for pricing$49,034Not reportedYes*61 mi
453.1Contact school for pricing$44,89254%Yes*28 mi
552.9Contact school for pricing$48,62531%Yes*51 mi
652.6Contact school for pricing$48,441Not reportedYes*63 mi
751.7Contact school for pricing$39,54656%Yes*16 mi
847.2Contact school for pricing$43,91633%Yes*43 mi
946.8Contact school for pricing$35,87169%Yes*68 mi
1045.5Contact school for pricing$48,13822%Yes*54 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

North Carolina employs approximately 9,250 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $74,450 1. The state’s concentration of radiology technician jobs is 1.26x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Carolina

How to become a Radiology Technician in North Carolina? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission.

How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission.

Do I need a license in North Carolina? Yes. North Carolina credentials this role through NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission 3. See the licensing section below.

What do radiology technicians earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in North Carolina is $74,450 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $52,860 and experienced professionals can earn $99,210 or more 1.

How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Carolina

  1. Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in North Carolina typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in North Carolina. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
  4. Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Radiology Technician License Requirements in North Carolina

Radiologic technologists in North Carolina typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet program entry rules.

  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.

  3. Pass ARRT(R).

  4. Apply to NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission for CRT or the state equivalent when required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission before you enroll.

Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia2,470$78,950$78,860$58,690$100,870
Raleigh-Cary1,080$68,210$71,940$54,220$96,620
Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk1,050$77,290$77,840$59,930$97,450
Durham-Chapel Hill780$80,430$83,210$63,740$102,350
Winston-Salem770$77,900$78,340$62,050$99,440
Greensboro-High Point490$67,520$70,650$47,350$96,770
Asheville410$72,680$73,670$58,860$93,120
Wilmington410$67,210$72,240$48,100$101,050
Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton380$68,780$72,680$47,360$99,610
Fayetteville350$74,220$72,840$49,340$93,750
Greenville240$65,750$70,920$52,510$98,330
Pinehurst-Southern Pines170$64,700$68,980$44,580$93,640
Burlington120$79,550$75,310$48,620$94,220
Rocky Mount80$72,170$72,230$47,470$99,040
Jacksonville70$63,930$64,700$43,470$79,260
Goldsboro40$62,020$65,290$45,230$87,120

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 9,250 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a radiology technician in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Contact the NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.

How much do radiology technicians earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in North Carolina is $74,450, which is $3,210 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.

In North Carolina

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in North Carolina

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. NC Department of Health & Human Services - NC Radiation Protection Commission - Licensing Information: https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ncrpc/index.html ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)