How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Dakota (2026)
North Dakota employs about 740 radiology technicians earning a median $67,790 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Dakota): $67,790/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Dakota: 740 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.17x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in North Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mitchell Technical College | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,865 | 74% | Yes* | 270 mi |
| 2 | Rasmussen University-North Dakota | 70.8 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | Not reported | Yes* | 147 mi |
| 3 | Ridgewater College | 68.7 | Contact school for pricing | $49,859 | 48% | Yes* | 275 mi |
| 4 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 192 mi |
| 5 | Northland Community and Technical College | 63.6 | Contact school for pricing | $54,671 | 52% | Yes* | 177 mi |
| 6 | Rasmussen University-Minnesota | 59.9 | Contact school for pricing | $59,996 | 53% | Yes* | 296 mi |
| 7 | Minnesota West Community and Technical College | 58.5 | $6,491 - $17,408 | $52,390 | 49% | Yes* | 271 mi |
| 8 | Sanford Medical Center | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 305 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Dakota employs approximately 740 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $67,790 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in North Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (North Dakota): $67,790 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Dakota
How to become a Radiology Technician in North Dakota? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy.
Do I need a license in North Dakota? Yes. North Dakota credentials this role through ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in North Dakota? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in North Dakota is $67,790 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $60,600 and experienced professionals can earn $93,870 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in North Dakota
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in North Dakota typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in North Dakota. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in North Dakota
Radiologic technologists in North Dakota typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in North Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in North Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fargo | 280 | $66,380 | $72,180 | $59,390 | $92,500 |
| Bismarck | 140 | $65,330 | $71,540 | $61,360 | $82,990 |
| Grand Forks | 100 | $72,280 | $70,230 | $60,670 | $79,680 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in North Dakota? North Dakota currently employs approximately 740 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in North Dakota with an out-of-state license? Contact the ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in North Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Dakota.
How much do radiology technicians earn in North Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in North Dakota is $67,790, which is $9,870 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bismarck, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Dickinson, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Grand Forks, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Jamestown, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Mandan, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Minot, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Wahpeton, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in West Fargo, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Williston, North Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiology Technician Programs in North Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Dakota
Explore More Trades in North Dakota
- Electrician in North Dakota
- Plumber in North Dakota
- HVAC Technician in North Dakota
- Welder in North Dakota
- Carpenter in North Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in North Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in North Dakota
- CNC Machinist in North Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Dakota
- Medical Assistant in North Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
ND Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy - Licensing Information: https://www.ndmirtboard.com/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |