How to Become a Radiology Technician in South Dakota (2026)
South Dakota employs about 980 radiology technicians earning a median $65,240 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
Key Facts
- Median wage (South Dakota): $65,240/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in South Dakota: 980 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.45x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in South Dakota
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mitchell Technical College | 78.9 | Contact school for pricing | $54,865 | 74% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 2 | St Luke's College | 75.4 | $24,175 - $27,647 | $76,207 | Not reported | Yes* | 182 mi |
| 3 | Northwest Iowa Community College | 72.4 | $7,350 - $20,414 | $60,885 | 57% | Yes* | 184 mi |
| 4 | Northeast Community College | 71.4 | Contact school for pricing | $49,390 | 56% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 5 | Minnesota State Community and Technical College | 64.5 | $5,908 - $17,194 | $54,581 | 47% | Yes* | 219 mi |
| 6 | Minnesota West Community and Technical College | 58.5 | $6,491 - $17,408 | $52,390 | 49% | Yes* | 192 mi |
| 7 | Sanford Medical Center | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 134 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
South Dakota employs approximately 980 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $65,240 1. The state’s concentration of radiology technician jobs is 1.45x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in South Dakota, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (South Dakota): $65,240 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in South Dakota
How to become a Radiology Technician in South Dakota? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
Do I need a license in South Dakota? Yes. South Dakota credentials this role through South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in South Dakota? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in South Dakota is $65,240 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,730 and experienced professionals can earn $89,710 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in South Dakota
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in South Dakota typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in South Dakota. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in South Dakota
Radiologic technologists in South Dakota typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in South Dakota
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in South Dakota vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sioux Falls | 450 | $65,030 | $67,510 | $48,240 | $87,890 |
| Sioux City | 150 | $64,260 | $66,230 | $51,600 | $78,720 |
| Rapid City | 130 | $67,210 | $71,400 | $50,050 | $97,200 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in South Dakota? South Dakota currently employs approximately 980 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in South Dakota with an out-of-state license? Contact the South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in South Dakota? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in South Dakota.
How much do radiology technicians earn in South Dakota compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in South Dakota is $65,240, which is $12,420 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In South Dakota
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Aberdeen, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Brookings, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Huron, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Mitchell, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Pierre, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Rapid City, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Spearfish, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Vermillion, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Watertown, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Yankton, South Dakota (2026)
- Best Radiology Technician Programs in South Dakota (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in South Dakota
- Best HVAC Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in South Dakota
- Best Plumbing Schools in South Dakota (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in South Dakota
Explore More Trades in South Dakota
- Electrician in South Dakota
- Plumber in South Dakota
- HVAC Technician in South Dakota
- Welder in South Dakota
- Carpenter in South Dakota
- Solar Installation Technician in South Dakota
- Auto Mechanic in South Dakota
- CNC Machinist in South Dakota
- Certified Nursing Assistant in South Dakota
- Medical Assistant in South Dakota
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
South Dakota Board of Chiropractic Examiners - Licensing Information: https://doh.sd.gov/licensing-and-records/boards/chiropractic/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |