How to Become a Radiology Technician in Utah (2026)

Utah employs about 1,780 radiology technicians earning a median $81,000 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Utah): $81,000/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Utah: 1,780 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 0.69x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
  • Licensing/credentialing body: Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Utah

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
172.8Contact school for pricing$69,88345%Yes*36 mi
268.2Contact school for pricing$46,12934%Yes*183 mi
362.5Contact school for pricing$46,963Not reportedYes*328 mi
459.3Contact school for pricing$39,28481%19 mi
556.7Contact school for pricing$58,60141%Yes*213 mi
652.3Contact school for pricing$57,60246%Yes*197 mi
752.1Contact school for pricing$52,871Not reportedYes*157 mi
851.6Contact school for pricing$55,624Not reportedYes*261 mi
951.6Contact school for pricing$55,27929%Yes*3 mi
1049.7Contact school for pricing$36,67367%Yes*355 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Utah employs approximately 1,780 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $81,000 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Utah, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Utah

How to become a Radiology Technician in Utah? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing.

How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing.

Do I need a license in Utah? Yes. Utah credentials this role through Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 3. See the licensing section below.

What do radiology technicians earn in Utah? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Utah is $81,000 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,150 and experienced professionals can earn $108,070 or more 1.

How to Become a Radiology Technician in Utah

  1. Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Utah typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Utah. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
  4. Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Radiology Technician License Requirements in Utah

Radiologic technologists in Utah typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet program entry rules.

  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.

  3. Pass ARRT(R).

  4. Apply to Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing for CRT or the state equivalent when required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing before you enroll.

Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Utah

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Utah

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Utah vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Salt Lake City-Murray770$81,170$85,050$48,150$130,280
Ogden320$74,880$76,690$46,290$102,850
Provo-Orem-Lehi280$79,690$79,950$41,810$105,520

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Utah? Utah currently employs approximately 1,780 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a radiology technician in Utah with an out-of-state license? Contact the Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in Utah? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Utah.

How much do radiology technicians earn in Utah compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Utah is $81,000, which is $3,340 above the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.

In Utah

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Utah

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Utah Department of Commerece - Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing - Licensing Information: https://dopl.utah.gov/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)