How to Become a Radiology Technician in Vermont (2026)
Vermont employs about 470 radiology technicians earning a median $94,540 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Vermont
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Maine College of Health Professions | 76.1 | $20,952 - $26,827 | $72,004 | Not reported | Yes* | 128 mi |
| 2 | CVPH Medical Center School of Radiologic Technology | 64.5 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 46 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Hudson Valley Community College | 62.7 | Contact school for pricing | $54,719 | 34% | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 4 | NHTI-Concord's Community College | 56.4 | Contact school for pricing | $55,056 | Not reported | Yes* | 95 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Fulton-Montgomery Community College | 55.0 | Contact school for pricing | $45,309 | Not reported | Yes* | 117 mi |
| 6 | Northern Essex Community College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,743 | 20% | Yes* | 133 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | North Country Community College | 47.8 | Contact school for pricing | $54,281 | 27% | Yes* | 66 mi |
| 8 | River Valley Community College | 44.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,465 | Not reported | — | 63 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Vermont employs approximately 470 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $94,540 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Vermont, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (Vermont): $94,540 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Vermont
How to become a Radiology Technician in Vermont? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.
Do I need a license in Vermont? Yes. Vermont credentials this role through Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in Vermont? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Vermont is $94,540 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $66,960 and experienced professionals can earn $125,230 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in Vermont
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Vermont typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Vermont. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in Vermont
Radiologic technologists in Vermont typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Vermont
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Vermont? Vermont currently employs approximately 470 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in Vermont with an out-of-state license? Contact the Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Vermont? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Vermont.
How much do radiology technicians earn in Vermont compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Vermont is $94,540, which is $16,880 above the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Vermont
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Barre, Vermont (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Essex Junction, Vermont (2026)
- Best Radiology Technician Programs in Rutland, Vermont (2026)
- Best Radiology Technician Programs in South Burlington, Vermont (2026)
- Best Radiology Technician Programs in Vermont (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Vermont
- Best HVAC Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Vermont
- Best Plumbing Schools in Vermont (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Vermont
Explore More Trades in Vermont
- Electrician in Vermont
- Plumber in Vermont
- HVAC Technician in Vermont
- Welder in Vermont
- Carpenter in Vermont
- Solar Installation Technician in Vermont
- Auto Mechanic in Vermont
- CNC Machinist in Vermont
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Vermont
- Medical Assistant in Vermont
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Vermont Secretary of State - Office of Professional Regulation - Licensing Information: https://sos.vermont.gov/radiologic-technology/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |