How to Become a Radiology Technician in Virginia (2026)
Virginia employs about 5,140 radiology technicians earning a median $80,670 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Virginia): $80,670/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Virginia: 5,140 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.84x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bon Secours St Mary's Hospital School of Medical Imaging | 82.7 | Contact school for pricing | $79,623 | Not reported | — | 71 mi |
| 2 | Sovah School of Health Professions | 80.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 62 mi |
| 3 | Southside College of Health Sciences | 78.8 | Contact school for pricing | $76,113 | Not reported | — | 71 mi |
| 4 | Piedmont Virginia Community College | 62.2 | Contact school for pricing | $51,090 | 37% | Yes* | 53 mi |
| 5 | Vance-Granville Community College | 57.2 | Contact school for pricing | $47,633 | Not reported | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 6 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 112 mi |
| 7 | Brightpoint Community College | 54.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,344 | 39% | Yes* | 71 mi |
| 8 | Virginia Western Community College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $48,004 | 40% | Yes* | 70 mi |
| 9 | Central Virginia Community College | 50.4 | $5,157 - $12,829 | $45,157 | 43% | Yes* | 28 mi |
| 10 | Guilford Technical Community College | 35.2 | $2,320 - $20,529 | $44,924 | 31% | Yes* | 111 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Virginia employs approximately 5,140 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $80,670 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (Virginia): $80,670 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Virginia
How to become a Radiology Technician in Virginia? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine.
Do I need a license in Virginia? Yes. Virginia credentials this role through Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in Virginia? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Virginia is $80,670 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $60,000 and experienced professionals can earn $106,170 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in Virginia
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Virginia typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Virginia. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in Virginia
Radiologic technologists in Virginia typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 3,170 | $97,390 | $95,410 | $70,820 | $124,200 |
| Richmond | 1,130 | $80,600 | $81,670 | $60,250 | $98,150 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 1,050 | $77,290 | $77,840 | $59,930 | $97,450 |
| Roanoke | 340 | $75,710 | $73,840 | $51,780 | $93,810 |
| Kingsport-Bristol | 200 | $61,450 | $63,800 | $48,120 | $79,160 |
| Charlottesville | 200 | $79,560 | $82,720 | $58,920 | $109,550 |
| Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford | 110 | $77,110 | $75,310 | $53,300 | $95,390 |
| Winchester | 110 | $75,630 | $72,140 | $53,920 | $82,720 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Virginia? Virginia currently employs approximately 5,140 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in Virginia with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Virginia.
How much do radiology technicians earn in Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Virginia is $80,670, which is $3,010 above the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Alexandria, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Blacksburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bristol, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Charlottesville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Chesapeake, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Christiansburg, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Colonial Heights, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Culpeper, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Danville, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Fairfax, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Falls Church, Virginia (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Fredericksburg, Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Virginia
Explore More Trades in Virginia
- Electrician in Virginia
- Plumber in Virginia
- HVAC Technician in Virginia
- Welder in Virginia
- Carpenter in Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in Virginia
- CNC Machinist in Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia
- Medical Assistant in Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Health Professions - Virginia Board of Medicine - Licensing Information: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Medicine/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |