How to Become a Radiology Technician in Washington (2026)
Washington employs about 4,130 radiology technicians earning a median $102,090 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through Department of Health.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Washington): $102,090/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Washington: 4,130 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.79x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 4.3% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
- Licensing/credentialing body: Department of Health (Source: State licensing agency, 2025)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Radiology Technician Schools in Washington
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bellevue College | 73.6 | Contact school for pricing | $64,079 | 35% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 2 | Bellingham Technical College | 69.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 44% | Yes* | 133 mi |
| 3 | Tacoma Community College | 68.9 | Contact school for pricing | $55,189 | 32% | Yes* | 65 mi |
| 4 | Spokane Community College | 68.4 | Contact school for pricing | $52,567 | 35% | Yes* | 183 mi |
| 5 | Lower Columbia College | 66.5 | $4,626 - $16,169 | $52,301 | 24% | Yes* | 106 mi |
| 6 | Columbia Basin College | 61.3 | $6,555 - $18,261 | $67,608 | 30% | — | 112 mi |
| 7 | Yakima Valley College | 55.9 | Contact school for pricing | $51,006 | 31% | — | 45 mi |
| 8 | Wenatchee Valley College | 54.1 | Contact school for pricing | $52,108 | 41% | — | 46 mi |
| 9 | Pima Medical Institute-Seattle | 52.5 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | 59% | — | 70 mi |
| 10 | Portland Community College | 46.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,238 | Not reported | Yes* | 135 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Washington employs approximately 4,130 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $102,090 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in Washington, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
- Licensing authority: Department of Health
- Exam: ARRT(R)
- Median wage (Washington): $102,090 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in Washington
How to become a Radiology Technician in Washington? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through Department of Health.
How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and Department of Health.
Do I need a license in Washington? Yes. Washington credentials this role through Department of Health 3. See the licensing section below.
What do radiology technicians earn in Washington? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Washington is $102,090 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $66,570 and experienced professionals can earn $132,060 or more 1.
How to Become a Radiology Technician in Washington
- Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in Washington typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
- Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in Washington. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
- Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with Department of Health.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Radiology Technician License Requirements in Washington
Radiologic technologists in Washington typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See Department of Health 3.
Typical path
Meet program entry rules.
Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.
Pass ARRT(R).
Apply to Department of Health for CRT or the state equivalent when required.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with Department of Health before you enroll.
Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in Washington
Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in Washington
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in Washington vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 3,170 | $97,390 | $95,410 | $70,820 | $124,200 |
| Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue | 2,130 | $105,200 | $110,320 | $80,110 | $134,220 |
| Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro | 1,520 | $104,810 | $102,070 | $71,070 | $125,850 |
| Spokane-Spokane Valley | 520 | $83,050 | $86,110 | $60,570 | $120,000 |
| Kennewick-Richland | 150 | $96,830 | $93,430 | $62,110 | $122,620 |
| Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater | 120 | $95,290 | $100,090 | $66,710 | $125,260 |
| Yakima | 110 | $73,600 | $79,660 | $46,220 | $118,110 |
| Mount Vernon-Anacortes | 100 | $101,970 | $94,880 | $80,120 | $120,670 |
| Wenatchee-East Wenatchee | 90 | $84,600 | $85,040 | $65,060 | $108,530 |
| Bremerton-Silverdale-Port Orchard | 60 | $102,290 | $102,560 | $77,860 | $127,540 |
| Walla Walla | 40 | $93,750 | $91,080 | $62,370 | $117,270 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in Washington? Washington currently employs approximately 4,130 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a radiology technician in Washington with an out-of-state license? Contact the Department of Health for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in Washington? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Washington.
How much do radiology technicians earn in Washington compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in Washington is $102,090, which is $24,430 above the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Washington
Top local programs
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Aberdeen, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Anacortes, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Arlington, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Auburn, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bainbridge Island, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Battle Ground, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bellevue, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bellingham, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bonney Lake, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bothell, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Bremerton, Washington (2026)
- Best Radiologic Technology Schools in Burien, Washington (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Washington
- Best HVAC Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Washington
- Best Plumbing Schools in Washington (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Washington
Explore More Trades in Washington
- Electrician in Washington
- Plumber in Washington
- HVAC Technician in Washington
- Welder in Washington
- Carpenter in Washington
- Solar Installation Technician in Washington
- Auto Mechanic in Washington
- CNC Machinist in Washington
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Washington
- Medical Assistant in Washington
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Department of Health - Licensing Information: http://www.doh.wa.gov ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |