How to Become a Radiology Technician in West Virginia (2026)

West Virginia employs about 1,810 radiology technicians earning a median $74,150 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Radiology Technician here means completing a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required, then applying through MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY.

Compare Radiology Technician Schools in West Virginia

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
1Not ratedContact school for pricing$64,188Not reported—98 mi
263.7Contact school for pricing$51,89755%—66 mi
Sponsored Ad
358.4$4,128 in-state / $4,152 out-of-stateNot reported32%Yes*54 mi
453.8$4,728 in-state / $6,432 out-of-state$47,46751%Yes*75 mi
Sponsored Ad
550.3$20,560$51,84036%Yes*62 mi
647.9$5,762 in-state / $13,660 out-of-state$47,69342%Yes*79 mi
Sponsored Ad
733.4$4,938 in-state / $12,304 out-of-state$45,49519%—67 mi
832.7$5,136 in-state / $7,872 out-of-state$37,02129%Yes*69 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

West Virginia employs approximately 1,810 radiology technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $74,150 1. The state’s concentration of radiology technician jobs is 1.74x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 12,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Radiology Technician in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: JRCERT-accredited radiography program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required
  • Licensing authority: MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY
  • Exam: ARRT(R)
  • Median wage (West Virginia): $74,150 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Radiology Technician in West Virginia

How to become a Radiology Technician in West Virginia? Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Apply through MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY.

How long does it take? Most people finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program, ARRT(R), and state radiologic technologist licensure where required. Confirm current hour totals with the program and MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY.

Do I need a license in West Virginia? Yes. West Virginia credentials this role through MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY 3. See the licensing section below.

What do radiology technicians earn in West Virginia? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in West Virginia is $74,150 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $56,270 and experienced professionals can earn $95,510 or more 1.

How to Become a Radiology Technician in West Virginia

  1. Meet program entry rules. Radiography programs in West Virginia typically require a high school diploma or GED. Confirm prerequisites with the program.
  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program. Finish a JRCERT-accredited radiography program in West Virginia. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass ARRT(R). Pass the ARRT radiography exam. Some states accept ARRT in lieu of a separate state exam.
  4. Apply for state licensure where required. Apply for the state radiologic technologist credential where required. Confirm fluoroscopy or CRT rules with MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Radiology Technician License Requirements in West Virginia

Radiologic technologists in West Virginia typically complete a JRCERT-accredited program, pass ARRT(R), and obtain a state CRT or equivalent where required. See MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY 3.

Typical path

  1. Meet program entry rules.

  2. Complete a JRCERT-accredited radiography program.

  3. Pass ARRT(R).

  4. Apply to MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY for CRT or the state equivalent when required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY before you enroll.

Radiology Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), radiologic technologists and technicians wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria3,170$97,390$95,410$70,820$124,200
Huntington-Ashland360$79,090$76,030$61,050$94,960
Morgantown360$75,390$72,580$59,910$95,120
Charleston320$79,570$76,690$54,340$97,750
Hagerstown-Martinsburg170$77,620$80,490$62,310$101,670
Wheeling150$75,250$73,240$60,260$96,840
Winchester110$75,630$72,140$53,920$82,720
Beckley110$68,100$69,460$56,270$90,130

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for radiology technicians in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 1,810 radiology technicians 1. Nationally, radiology technician employment is projected to grow 4.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a radiology technician in West Virginia with an out-of-state license? Contact the MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.

What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.

How much do radiology technicians earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for radiology technicians in West Virginia is $74,150, which is $3,510 below the national median of $77,660 according to BLS data 1.

In West Virginia

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in West Virginia

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. MEDICAL IMAGING & RADIATION THERAPY - Licensing Information: http://www.wvrtboard.org ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)