How to Become a Recovery Coach in Illinois (2026)
Illinois employs about 2,040 recovery coaches earning a median $49,240 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Community Health Workers”). Training as a Recovery Coach here means completing state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license.
Compare Recovery Coach Schools in Illinois
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Moraine Valley Community College | 60.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,357 | 37% | Yes* | 74 mi |
| 2 | Waubonsee Community College | 59.6 | Contact school for pricing | $51,678 | Not reported | Yes* | 60 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | City Colleges of Chicago-Wilbur Wright College | 59.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,501 | 32% | Yes* | 89 mi |
| 4 | Elgin Community College | 50.2 | Contact school for pricing | $54,220 | 41% | — | 77 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Illinois Central College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $55,058 | Not reported | Yes* | 36 mi |
| 6 | South Suburban College | 48.6 | Contact school for pricing | $45,069 | Not reported | Yes* | 81 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | College of DuPage | 47.7 | Contact school for pricing | $55,984 | 25% | — | 73 mi |
| 8 | City Colleges of Chicago-Harold Washington College | 39.8 | Contact school for pricing | $45,722 | 27% | Yes* | 91 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | City Colleges of Chicago-Kennedy-King College | 37.3 | Contact school for pricing | $43,247 | 29% | Yes* | 86 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Illinois employs approximately 2,040 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category (SOC 21-1094), with a median annual wage of $49,240 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Recovery Coach in Illinois, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track recovery coach salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094). Actual recovery coach earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: peer recovery or recovery coach training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license
- Exam: state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent)
- Median wage (Illinois): $49,240 per year (based on related “Community Health Workers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Recovery Coach in Illinois
How to become a Recovery Coach in Illinois? Complete state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Illinois? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent). See the licensing section below.
What do recovery coaches earn in Illinois? The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. Based on the related “Community Health Workers” category, the median annual wage in Illinois is $49,240, with entry-level wages around $39,040 and experienced workers earning $65,540 or more 1.
How to Become a Recovery Coach in Illinois
- Meet peer-program entry rules. Many peer programs require lived experience of recovery. Confirm current rules with the state peer board, not the state police.
- Complete recognized peer recovery training. Finish ethics, motivational interviewing, boundaries, and crisis modules the state peer board recognizes. This is not a counseling degree and not a registered apprenticeship.
- Complete supervised peer hours if required. Some states require documented peer hours. Confirm the current total with the peer board; do not invent a number.
- Earn the peer credential. Apply for CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the credential Illinois actually issues. Do not apply for bail recovery or LPC as the recovery-coach path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach License Requirements in Illinois
Recovery coaches are peer specialists, not licensed professional counselors. Illinois may certify peers through a behavioral-health board. Bail-recovery and LPC credentials are different occupations.
Typical path
Complete recognized peer recovery training.
Complete supervised peer hours if the state requires them.
Earn the peer credential the state or employer uses.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in Illinois
Note: The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), community health workers wages in Illinois vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chicago-Naperville-Elgin | 1,430 | $49,750 | $53,450 | $42,220 | $69,310 |
| St. Louis | 740 | $49,650 | $51,660 | $38,590 | $64,180 |
| Champaign-Urbana | 140 | $39,040 | $45,170 | $39,040 | $65,540 |
| Decatur | 70 | $49,630 | $45,800 | $31,980 | $57,760 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 60 | $46,650 | $47,900 | $36,760 | $62,210 |
| Peoria | 50 | $50,710 | $52,560 | $41,740 | $64,500 |
| Rockford | 30 | $46,810 | $53,280 | $41,180 | $77,150 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for recovery coaches in Illinois? Illinois employs approximately 2,040 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Illinois? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Illinois.
How much do recovery coaches earn in Illinois compared to the national average? The median annual wage for recovery coaches in Illinois is $49,240 (based on the related “Community Health Workers” category), which is $1,790 below the national median of $51,030 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Illinois
Top local programs
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Addison, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Algonquin, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Alsip, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Alton, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Antioch, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Arlington Heights, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Aurora, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Barrington, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Bartlett, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Batavia, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Beach Park, Illinois (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Belleville, Illinois (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Illinois
- Best HVAC Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Illinois
- Best Plumbing Schools in Illinois (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Illinois
Explore More Trades in Illinois
- Electrician in Illinois
- Plumber in Illinois
- HVAC Technician in Illinois
- Welder in Illinois
- Carpenter in Illinois
- Solar Installation Technician in Illinois
- Auto Mechanic in Illinois
- CNC Machinist in Illinois
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Illinois
- Medical Assistant in Illinois
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |