How to Become a Recovery Coach in Nevada (2026)
Nevada employs about 670 recovery coaches earning a median $57,730 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Community Health Workers”). Training as a Recovery Coach here means completing state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license.
Compare Recovery Coach Schools in Nevada
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | San Joaquin Delta College | 66.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 231 mi |
| 2 | Modesto Junior College | 64.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,619 | 28% | Yes* | 216 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Great Basin College | 52.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,602 | 46% | Yes* | 212 mi |
| 4 | Merced College | 51.7 | Contact school for pricing | $51,136 | 32% | Yes* | 191 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Porterville College | 44.8 | $1,438 - $20,730 | $36,940 | 32% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 6 | Fresno City College | 41.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,885 | 24% | — | 170 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Antelope Valley Community College District | 40.9 | Contact school for pricing | $46,723 | 33% | — | 235 mi |
| 8 | InterCoast Colleges-Rancho Cordova | 38.6 | Contact school for pricing | $48,764 | 70% | — | 235 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 9 | Lake Tahoe Community College | 30.5 | $1,131 - $17,666 | $45,548 | 43% | Yes* | 170 mi |
| 10 | Cerro Coso Community College | 20.7 | Contact school for pricing | $57,300 | 25% | Yes* | 167 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Nevada employs approximately 670 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category (SOC 21-1094), with a median annual wage of $57,730 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Recovery Coach in Nevada, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track recovery coach salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094). Actual recovery coach earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: peer recovery or recovery coach training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license
- Exam: state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent)
- Median wage (Nevada): $57,730 per year (based on related “Community Health Workers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Recovery Coach in Nevada
How to become a Recovery Coach in Nevada? Complete state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Nevada? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent). See the licensing section below.
What do recovery coaches earn in Nevada? The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. Based on the related “Community Health Workers” category, the median annual wage in Nevada is $57,730, with entry-level wages around $41,980 and experienced workers earning $95,200 or more 1.
How to Become a Recovery Coach in Nevada
- Meet peer-program entry rules. Many peer programs require lived experience of recovery. Confirm current rules with the state peer board, not the state police.
- Complete recognized peer recovery training. Finish ethics, motivational interviewing, boundaries, and crisis modules the state peer board recognizes. This is not a counseling degree and not a registered apprenticeship.
- Complete supervised peer hours if required. Some states require documented peer hours. Confirm the current total with the peer board; do not invent a number.
- Earn the peer credential. Apply for CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the credential Nevada actually issues. Do not apply for bail recovery or LPC as the recovery-coach path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach License Requirements in Nevada
Recovery coaches are peer specialists, not licensed professional counselors. Nevada may certify peers through a behavioral-health board. Bail-recovery and LPC credentials are different occupations.
Typical path
Complete recognized peer recovery training.
Complete supervised peer hours if the state requires them.
Earn the peer credential the state or employer uses.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in Nevada
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in Nevada
Note: The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), community health workers wages in Nevada vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Las Vegas-Henderson-North Las Vegas | 380 | $55,290 | $62,360 | $43,700 | $95,090 |
| Reno | 140 | $49,930 | $58,180 | $37,230 | $98,780 |
| Carson City | 100 | $81,600 | $81,360 | $51,400 | $104,310 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for recovery coaches in Nevada? Nevada employs approximately 670 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Nevada? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Nevada.
How much do recovery coaches earn in Nevada compared to the national average? The median annual wage for recovery coaches in Nevada is $57,730 (based on the related “Community Health Workers” category), which is $6,700 above the national median of $51,030 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Nevada
Top local programs
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Boulder City, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Carson City, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Elko, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Fallon, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Fernley, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Henderson, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Las Vegas, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Mesquite, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in North Las Vegas, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Reno, Nevada (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Sparks, Nevada (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Nevada
- Best HVAC Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Nevada
- Best Plumbing Schools in Nevada (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Nevada
Explore More Trades in Nevada
- Electrician in Nevada
- Plumber in Nevada
- HVAC Technician in Nevada
- Welder in Nevada
- Carpenter in Nevada
- Solar Installation Technician in Nevada
- Auto Mechanic in Nevada
- CNC Machinist in Nevada
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Nevada
- Medical Assistant in Nevada
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |