How to Become a Recovery Coach in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 310 recovery coaches earning a median $37,950 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025; proxy category “Community Health Workers”). Training as a Recovery Coach here means completing state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license.
Compare Recovery Coach Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Washington State College of Ohio | 58.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 54 mi |
| 2 | BridgeValley Community & Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $57,464 | 30% | Yes* | 31 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Belmont College | 54.8 | Contact school for pricing | $49,749 | 40% | Yes* | 100 mi |
| 4 | Southwest Virginia Community College | 48.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,371 | Not reported | Yes* | 112 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | West Virginia Northern Community College | 48.4 | Contact school for pricing | $39,901 | 31% | Yes* | 101 mi |
| 6 | Huntington Junior College | 45.2 | Contact school for pricing | $28,491 | Not reported | Yes* | 66 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Garrett College | 38.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,793 | 33% | Yes* | 121 mi |
| 8 | Mountwest Community and Technical College | 33.4 | Contact school for pricing | $45,495 | 18% | — | 67 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, West Virginia employs approximately 310 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category (SOC 21-1094), with a median annual wage of $37,950 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Recovery Coach in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
A note on salary data: The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track recovery coach salaries as a separate category. The wage figures on this page are based on the closest matching BLS classification: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094). Actual recovery coach earnings may vary.
At a Glance
- Training paths: peer recovery or recovery coach training (find programs)
- Typical timeline: state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license
- Exam: state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent)
- Median wage (West Virginia): $37,950 per year (based on related “Community Health Workers” category) 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Recovery Coach in West Virginia
How to become a Recovery Coach in West Virginia? Complete state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish state-recognized peer recovery training and the peer credential that state uses, not an LPC or bail-recovery license. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect state peer recovery credential (CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the state equivalent). See the licensing section below.
What do recovery coaches earn in West Virginia? The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. Based on the related “Community Health Workers” category, the median annual wage in West Virginia is $37,950, with entry-level wages around $29,480 and experienced workers earning $56,840 or more 1.
How to Become a Recovery Coach in West Virginia
- Meet peer-program entry rules. Many peer programs require lived experience of recovery. Confirm current rules with the state peer board, not the state police.
- Complete recognized peer recovery training. Finish ethics, motivational interviewing, boundaries, and crisis modules the state peer board recognizes. This is not a counseling degree and not a registered apprenticeship.
- Complete supervised peer hours if required. Some states require documented peer hours. Confirm the current total with the peer board; do not invent a number.
- Earn the peer credential. Apply for CRPS, CPRC, NCPRSS, or the credential West Virginia actually issues. Do not apply for bail recovery or LPC as the recovery-coach path.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach License Requirements in West Virginia
Recovery coaches are peer specialists, not licensed professional counselors. West Virginia may certify peers through a behavioral-health board. Bail-recovery and LPC credentials are different occupations.
Typical path
Complete recognized peer recovery training.
Complete supervised peer hours if the state requires them.
Earn the peer credential the state or employer uses.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Recovery Coach Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Note: The BLS does not track recovery coach wages separately. The data below is based on the closest matching category: Community Health Workers (SOC 21-1094).
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), community health workers wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,600 | $58,790 | $60,340 | $38,980 | $87,750 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 100 | $50,350 | $46,720 | $33,350 | $59,120 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 90 | $41,700 | $44,850 | $30,340 | $64,480 |
| Charleston | 50 | $38,080 | $39,220 | $30,510 | $52,630 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for recovery coaches in West Virginia? West Virginia employs approximately 310 workers in the related “Community Health Workers” category 1. Nationally, employment in this category is projected to grow 11.3% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do recovery coaches earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for recovery coaches in West Virginia is $37,950 (based on the related “Community Health Workers” category), which is $13,080 below the national median of $51,030 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Recovery Coach Programs in Point Pleasant, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |