How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Colorado (2026)

Colorado employs about 8,940 refrigeration technicians earning a median $65,200 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most refrigeration technicians train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Colorado.

Compare Refrigeration Technician Schools in Colorado

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
157.3Contact school for pricing$57,589Not reportedYes*In-state
252.8Contact school for pricing$51,704Not reportedYes*In-state
343.8Contact school for pricing$51,74270%In-state

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Colorado employs approximately 8,940 refrigeration technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $65,200 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 40,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Refrigeration Technician in Colorado, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Colorado): $65,200 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Colorado

How to become a Refrigeration Technician in Colorado? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for refrigeration technicians in Colorado.

How long does it take? Most paths into the refrigeration technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

What do refrigeration technicians earn in Colorado? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Colorado is $65,200 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $48,220 and experienced professionals can earn $103,640 or more 1.

How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Colorado

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Colorado training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Colorado that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in Colorado.
  4. Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in Colorado, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Refrigeration Technician Apprenticeship Information in Colorado

Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Colorado’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Employment Services - Registered Apprenticeship 3.

Contact Information:

  • Office: Colorado Department of Labor and Employment - Apprenticeship
  • Address: 633 17th Street, Denver, CO 80202-3660
  • Phone: (720) 204-8608
  • Email: [email protected]

Refrigeration Technician Wages by Metro Area in Colorado

Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers Wages by Metro Area in Colorado

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers wages in Colorado vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Denver-Aurora-Centennial4,360$71,580$74,310$49,010$104,880
Colorado Springs950$61,460$66,950$47,550$94,990
Fort Collins-Loveland930$66,290$75,870$48,280$105,020
Greeley410$62,020$66,350$47,880$94,690
Boulder340$71,080$75,500$48,900$113,670
Grand Junction260$60,540$63,530$45,770$92,620
Pueblo160$59,110$62,140$46,040$91,840

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for refrigeration technicians in Colorado? Colorado currently employs approximately 8,940 refrigeration technicians 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Colorado? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Colorado. You can also contact the Department of Employment Services - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.

How much do refrigeration technicians earn in Colorado compared to the national average? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Colorado is $65,200, which is $5,390 above the national median of $59,810 according to BLS data 1.

In Colorado

Explore More Trades in Colorado

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Employment Services - Registered Apprenticeship: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)