How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 39,160 refrigeration technicians earning a median $56,670 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most refrigeration technicians train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Florida.
Compare Refrigeration Technician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eastern Florida State College | 63.6 | $2,496 - $11,966 | $49,053 | 52% | Yes* | In-state |
| 2 | Atlantic Technical College | 61.0 | Contact school for pricing | $40,638 | 60% | Yes* | In-state |
| 3 | College of Central Florida | 56.5 | $2,710 - $18,424 | Not reported | 44% | Yes* | In-state |
| 4 | North Florida Technical College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | 74% | — | In-state |
| 5 | Broward College | 53.1 | $2,830 - $21,947 | $49,843 | 38% | Yes* | In-state |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 39,160 refrigeration technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $56,670 1. The state’s concentration of refrigeration technician jobs is 1.50x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 40,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Refrigeration Technician in Florida, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Florida): $56,670 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Florida
How to become a Refrigeration Technician in Florida? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for refrigeration technicians in Florida.
How long does it take? Most paths into the refrigeration technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do refrigeration technicians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Florida is $56,670 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,370 and experienced professionals can earn $78,210 or more 1.
How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Florida
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Florida training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Florida that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in Florida.
- Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in Florida, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Refrigeration Technician Apprenticeship Information in Florida
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Florida’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Florida Office of Apprenticeship 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Florida Department of Education, Apprenticeship Division - Region 6
- Address: 1519 Clearlake Road, Cocoa, FL 32922
- Phone: (321) 433-7974
- Email: [email protected]
Refrigeration Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 9,140 | $58,040 | $60,000 | $39,520 | $80,220 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 6,090 | $50,540 | $55,940 | $39,620 | $75,300 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 5,140 | $51,460 | $56,030 | $38,020 | $77,840 |
| Jacksonville | 3,340 | $58,590 | $58,820 | $37,920 | $79,910 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 2,110 | $58,170 | $57,500 | $37,830 | $78,070 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 1,870 | $59,070 | $58,060 | $37,760 | $78,250 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 1,130 | $57,240 | $56,850 | $37,470 | $78,460 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 1,120 | $56,680 | $56,550 | $37,380 | $76,270 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 950 | $58,030 | $56,230 | $37,190 | $76,880 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 910 | $59,540 | $61,060 | $39,990 | $83,200 |
| Port St. Lucie | 830 | $57,210 | $57,080 | $37,440 | $78,320 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 820 | $49,290 | $54,220 | $37,440 | $74,310 |
| Tallahassee | 620 | $53,690 | $52,900 | $35,640 | $73,300 |
| Ocala | 600 | $49,020 | $53,300 | $35,330 | $74,810 |
| Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin | 570 | $48,810 | $52,650 | $37,600 | $75,070 |
| Gainesville | 480 | $55,670 | $54,860 | $36,070 | $75,240 |
| Panama City-Panama City Beach | 450 | $51,600 | $54,570 | $36,770 | $75,830 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 340 | $50,470 | $54,440 | $37,310 | $75,200 |
| Punta Gorda | 290 | $57,090 | $56,740 | $38,730 | $77,440 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 200 | $51,220 | $53,960 | $37,660 | $78,070 |
| Homosassa Springs | 170 | $47,470 | $51,590 | $37,740 | $73,900 |
| Sebring | 170 | $44,720 | $45,690 | $33,280 | $62,400 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for refrigeration technicians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 39,160 refrigeration technicians 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida. You can also contact the Florida Office of Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do refrigeration technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Florida is $56,670, which is $3,140 below the national median of $59,810 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Florida Office of Apprenticeship: https://web02.fldoe.org/Apprenticeship/search.aspx ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |