How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Iowa (2026)
Iowa employs about 3,840 refrigeration technicians earning a median $60,680 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most refrigeration technicians train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Iowa.
Compare Refrigeration Technician Schools in Iowa
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indian Hills Community College | 56.1 | Contact school for pricing | $50,322 | Not reported | Yes* | In-state |
| 2 | Hawkeye Community College | 54.6 | Contact school for pricing | $49,163 | 38% | Yes* | In-state |
| 3 | Iowa Central Community College | 54.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,682 | Not reported | Yes* | In-state |
| 4 | Des Moines Area Community College | 50.0 | Contact school for pricing | $51,817 | 37% | Yes* | In-state |
| 5 | Eastern Iowa Community College District | 47.9 | Contact school for pricing | $47,929 | 39% | Yes* | In-state |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Iowa employs approximately 3,840 refrigeration technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $60,680 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 40,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Refrigeration Technician in Iowa, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Iowa): $60,680 per year 1
- Exam requirement: State exam required
Quick Answers About How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Iowa
How to become a Refrigeration Technician in Iowa? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and obtain any licenses or certifications required by Iowa.
How long does it take? Most paths into the refrigeration technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Iowa? Yes. Iowa has licensing or registration requirements for refrigeration technicians. See the licensing section below for details.
What do refrigeration technicians earn in Iowa? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Iowa is $60,680 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $43,040 and experienced professionals can earn $86,280 or more 1.
How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Iowa
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Iowa training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Iowa that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Pass the state exam and apply for your license. Pass the required examination and obtain the Iowa refrigeration technician license before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Refrigeration Technician License Requirements in Iowa
License Types
| License | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers |
Additional Requirements
- Background check: Felony convictions prohibited
- Exam: State exam required
- Experience: Work experience required
License information sourced from CareerOneStop 3.
Refrigeration Technician Apprenticeship Information in Iowa
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Iowa’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Iowa Office of Registered Apprenticeship 4.
Contact Information:
- Office: Iowa Workforce Development
- Address: 1000 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50319
- Phone: (515) 725-3675
- Email: [email protected]
Refrigeration Technician Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers Wages by Metro Area in Iowa
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers wages in Iowa vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omaha | 1,600 | $62,570 | $63,330 | $45,610 | $83,640 |
| Des Moines-West Des Moines | 900 | $62,640 | $66,600 | $46,020 | $98,460 |
| Davenport-Moline-Rock Island | 410 | $65,190 | $69,990 | $45,790 | $100,270 |
| Cedar Rapids | 380 | $60,680 | $63,220 | $43,770 | $87,900 |
| Waterloo-Cedar Falls | 260 | $60,400 | $64,510 | $39,120 | $98,390 |
| Sioux City | 200 | $59,840 | $61,880 | $39,330 | $81,880 |
| Ames | 190 | $60,430 | $62,030 | $41,290 | $79,890 |
| Iowa City | 150 | $64,440 | $63,310 | $44,770 | $78,810 |
| Dubuque | 130 | $61,410 | $62,220 | $37,690 | $84,380 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for refrigeration technicians in Iowa? Iowa currently employs approximately 3,840 refrigeration technicians 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a refrigeration technician in Iowa with an out-of-state license? Reciprocity varies. Contact the Iowa licensing authority for details on transferring credentials.
What training programs are available in Iowa? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Iowa. You can also contact the Iowa Office of Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do refrigeration technicians earn in Iowa compared to the national average? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Iowa is $60,680, which is $870 above the national median of $59,810 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Iowa
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Iowa
- Best HVAC Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Iowa
- Best Plumbing Schools in Iowa (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Iowa
Explore More Trades in Iowa
- Electrician in Iowa
- Plumber in Iowa
- HVAC Technician in Iowa
- Welder in Iowa
- Carpenter in Iowa
- Solar Installation Technician in Iowa
- Auto Mechanic in Iowa
- CNC Machinist in Iowa
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Iowa
- Medical Assistant in Iowa
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
CareerOneStop - Licensed Occupations: https://www.careeronestop.org/Toolkit/Training/find-licenses.aspx ↩︎
Iowa Office of Registered Apprenticeship: https://www.iowaworkforcedevelopment.gov/registered-apprenticeship ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |