How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Kentucky (2026)
Kentucky employs about 5,100 refrigeration technicians earning a median $58,620 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Most refrigeration technicians train through a trade school program or a registered apprenticeship before entering the field in Kentucky.
Compare Refrigeration Technician Schools in Kentucky
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College | 56.0 | Contact school for pricing | $41,507 | Not reported | Yes* | In-state |
| 2 | Ashland Community and Technical College | 53.8 | Contact school for pricing | $47,467 | Not reported | Yes* | In-state |
| 3 | Bluegrass Community and Technical College | 51.0 | Contact school for pricing | $48,181 | Not reported | Yes* | In-state |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Kentucky employs approximately 5,100 refrigeration technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $58,620 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 40,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Refrigeration Technician in Kentucky, including requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Kentucky): $58,620 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Kentucky
How to become a Refrigeration Technician in Kentucky? Complete a training program or apprenticeship, gain work experience, and meet any state or employer requirements for refrigeration technicians in Kentucky.
How long does it take? Most paths into the refrigeration technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
What do refrigeration technicians earn in Kentucky? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Kentucky is $58,620 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,790 and experienced professionals can earn $80,020 or more 1.
How to Become a Refrigeration Technician in Kentucky
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Kentucky training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Kentucky that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor as part of a registered apprenticeship or employer program in Kentucky.
- Earn your journey card or employer qualification. Complete the registered apprenticeship or approved program, earn the journey card or employer qualification used in Kentucky, and confirm contractor versus worker rules with the state before working unsupervised.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Refrigeration Technician Apprenticeship Information in Kentucky
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Kentucky’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training 3.
Contact Information:
- Office: Office of Employer and Apprenticeship Services
- Address: 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
- Phone: (502) 564-5920
- Email: [email protected]
Refrigeration Technician Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers Wages by Metro Area in Kentucky
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration mechanics and installers wages in Kentucky vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | 2,950 | $62,240 | $65,290 | $39,750 | $96,400 |
| Louisville/Jefferson County | 1,890 | $58,930 | $60,030 | $45,870 | $78,740 |
| Lexington-Fayette | 740 | $60,280 | $61,430 | $37,470 | $81,180 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 360 | $48,860 | $52,080 | $35,780 | $73,400 |
| Clarksville | 330 | $50,480 | $53,720 | $38,530 | $71,790 |
| Bowling Green | 230 | $55,230 | $54,900 | $39,240 | $74,260 |
| Elizabethtown | 160 | $55,740 | $54,320 | $34,190 | $78,450 |
| Owensboro | 160 | $60,060 | $62,230 | $46,320 | $81,030 |
| Paducah | 90 | $56,610 | $57,340 | $44,970 | $78,110 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for refrigeration technicians in Kentucky? Kentucky currently employs approximately 5,100 refrigeration technicians 1. Nationally, refrigeration technician employment is projected to grow 8.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Kentucky? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Kentucky. You can also contact the Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do refrigeration technicians earn in Kentucky compared to the national average? The median annual wage for refrigeration technicians in Kentucky is $58,620, which is $1,190 below the national median of $59,810 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Kentucky
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Kentucky
- Best HVAC Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Kentucky
- Best Plumbing Schools in Kentucky (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Kentucky
Explore More Trades in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- HVAC Technician in Kentucky
- Welder in Kentucky
- Carpenter in Kentucky
- Solar Installation Technician in Kentucky
- Auto Mechanic in Kentucky
- CNC Machinist in Kentucky
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Kentucky
- Medical Assistant in Kentucky
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Kentucky Office of Apprenticeship and Training: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |