How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arizona (2026)

Arizona employs about 1,280 solar installation technicians earning a median $51,160 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.

Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Arizona

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
151.8$2,060 in-state / $8,684 out-of-state$48,65231%Yes*308 mi
251.4$2,250 in-state / $4,500 out-of-state$48,76527%Yes*35 mi
351.3$2,232 in-state / $10,320 out-of-state$62,40522%Yes*164 mi
451.2$3,060 in-state / $9,870 out-of-state$48,28620%Yes*194 mi
549.1$932Not reported34%Yes*68 mi
648.7$2,322 in-state / $6,360 out-of-state$54,87419%Yes*258 mi
746.6$1,851 in-state / $4,131 out-of-state$53,85523%Yes*357 mi
846.5$4,080 in-state / $6,630 out-of-state$39,71224%Yes*286 mi
944.5$2,907 in-state / $9,987 out-of-state$47,26224%Yes*174 mi
1043.0$4,346Not reported12%Yes*270 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Arizona employs approximately 1,280 solar installation technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $51,160 1. The state’s concentration of solar installation technician jobs is 1.96x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 4,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Arizona, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
  • Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
  • Median wage (Arizona): $51,160 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arizona

How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Arizona? Arizona does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.

How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.

Do I need a license in Arizona? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.

What do solar installation technicians earn in Arizona? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Arizona is $51,160 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,770 and experienced professionals can earn $78,780 or more 1.

How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arizona

  1. Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Arizona training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
  2. Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Arizona that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
  3. Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
  4. Earn an industry certification. While Arizona does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Arizona

Arizona does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.

Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:

  • NABCEP PV Associate Certification
  • OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification

For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 3. Contact training programs in Arizona for details on certification preparation courses.

Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Arizona

Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Arizona’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Arizona Department of Economic Security - Registered Apprenticeship 4.

Contact Information:

  • Office: Arizona Apprenticeship Office Department of Economic Security
  • Address: 1789 West Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007
  • Phone: (602) 542-6013
  • Email: [email protected]

Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Arizona

Solar Photovoltaic Installers Wages by Metro Area in Arizona

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), solar photovoltaic installers wages in Arizona vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler1,000$51,200$55,560$38,770$78,790
Flagstaff30$50,890$54,620$38,010$62,640

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Arizona? Arizona currently employs approximately 1,280 solar installation technicians 1. Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Arizona? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arizona. You can also contact the Arizona Department of Economic Security - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.

How much do solar installation technicians earn in Arizona compared to the national average? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Arizona is $51,160, which is $700 below the national median of $51,860 according to BLS data 1.

In Arizona

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Arizona

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎

  4. Arizona Department of Economic Security - Registered Apprenticeship: https://des.az.gov/sites/default/files/Registered-Apprenticeship-Program-List.pdf ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)