How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas (2026)
Solar installation technicians in Arkansas earn a median $44,820 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Arkansas
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | $6,400 | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 320 mi |
| 2 | Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology | 69.4 | $5,774 in-state / $11,384 out-of-state | $65,328 | 42% | Yes* | 206 mi |
| 3 | Dallas College | 60.4 | $2,730 in-state / $6,900 out-of-state | Not reported | 32% | Yes* | 296 mi |
| 4 | Cloud County Community College | 59.0 | $3,540 in-state / $4,500 out-of-state | $45,359 | 55% | Yes* | 430 mi |
| 5 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | $3,300 in-state / $5,868 out-of-state | $44,490 | 43% | Yes* | 413 mi |
| 6 | Crowder College | 52.4 | $6,180 in-state / $8,280 out-of-state | $40,780 | 49% | Yes* | 169 mi |
| 7 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | $3,410 in-state / $5,978 out-of-state | $43,835 | 35% | Yes* | 419 mi |
| 8 | University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana | 49.9 | $3,880 in-state / $5,560 out-of-state | Not reported | 57% | Yes* | 115 mi |
| 9 | Bryan University | 48.4 | $15,868 | $37,432 | 90% | Yes* | 158 mi |
| 10 | Texas State Technical College | 47.6 | $7,212 in-state / $11,812 out-of-state | $55,511 | 46% | Yes* | 356 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 4,100 openings per year 1. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Arkansas): $44,820 per year 2
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas? Arkansas does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Arkansas? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
What do solar installation technicians earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Arkansas is $44,820 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $44,800 and experienced professionals can earn $62,870 or more 2.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Arkansas
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Arkansas training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Arkansas that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Arkansas does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Arkansas
Arkansas does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 3. Contact training programs in Arkansas for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Arkansas
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Arkansas’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship 4.
Contact Information:
- Office: Arkansas Office of Skills Development
- Address: 1 Commerce Way, Little Rock, AR 72202
- Phone: (501) 683-1152
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Arkansas? Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 1.
What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas. You can also contact the Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do solar installation technicians earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Arkansas is $44,820, which is $7,040 below the national median of $51,860 according to BLS data 2.
Related guides
In Arkansas
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Arkadelphia, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Batesville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bella Vista, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Benton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bentonville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Blytheville, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bryant, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Cabot, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Camden, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Centerton, Arkansas (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Conway, Arkansas (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Arkansas
- Best HVAC Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Arkansas
- Best Plumbing Schools in Arkansas (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Arkansas
Explore More Trades in Arkansas
- Electrician in Arkansas
- Plumber in Arkansas
- HVAC Technician in Arkansas
- Welder in Arkansas
- Carpenter in Arkansas
- Auto Mechanic in Arkansas
- CNC Machinist in Arkansas
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Arkansas
- Medical Assistant in Arkansas
- Massage Therapist in Arkansas
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Arkansas Department of Career Education - Registered Apprenticeship: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |