How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia (2026)
U.S. employment of solar installation technicians is projected to change 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: 42.1% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in District of Columbia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Williamson College of the Trades | 81.5 | $31,611 | $79,194 | 83% | — | 110 mi |
| 2 | Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology | 75.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,037 | 95% | — | 141 mi |
| 3 | Blue Ridge Community and Technical College | 71.1 | $4,752 in-state / $8,808 out-of-state | $45,612 | 32% | Yes* | 63 mi |
| 4 | Hudson Valley Community College | 62.7 | $6,796 in-state / $11,852 out-of-state | $54,719 | 35% | Yes* | 314 mi |
| 5 | UCNJ Union College of Union County, New Jersey | 58.1 | $5,280 in-state / $9,500 out-of-state | Not reported | 35% | Yes* | 188 mi |
| 6 | Mercer County Community College | 55.2 | $5,310 in-state / $9,174 out-of-state | Not reported | 25% | Yes* | 157 mi |
| 7 | Monroe Community College | 50.8 | $6,006 in-state / $11,056 out-of-state | $47,430 | 27% | Yes* | 291 mi |
| 8 | Genesee Community College | 50.0 | $5,900 in-state / $6,500 out-of-state | $48,414 | 31% | Yes* | 289 mi |
| 9 | Delaware Technical Community College-Terry | 48.4 | $5,445 in-state / $12,308 out-of-state | $55,102 | 22% | Yes* | 81 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
District of Columbia offers career opportunities for solar installation technicians. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia? District of Columbia does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in District of Columbia? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in District of Columbia
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most District of Columbia training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in District of Columbia that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While District of Columbia does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in District of Columbia
District of Columbia does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 1. Contact training programs in District of Columbia for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in District of Columbia
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. District of Columbia’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Department of Employment Services 2.
Contact Information:
- Office: D.C. Apprenticeship Council
- Address: 4058 Minnesota Avenue, NE., Washington, DC 20001
- Phone: (202) 724-7000
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in District of Columbia
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in District of Columbia? Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 3.
What training programs are available in District of Columbia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in District of Columbia. You can also contact the Department of Employment Services for apprenticeship opportunities.
Related guides
In District of Columbia
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Washington, District of Columbia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best HVAC Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Plumbing Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in District of Columbia
- Best Welding Schools in District of Columbia (2026)
Explore More Trades in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- Plumber in District of Columbia
- HVAC Technician in District of Columbia
- Welder in District of Columbia
- Carpenter in District of Columbia
- Auto Mechanic in District of Columbia
- CNC Machinist in District of Columbia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in District of Columbia
- Medical Assistant in District of Columbia
- Massage Therapist in District of Columbia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Department of Employment Services: https://does.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/does/publication/attachments/DOES_Up-to%20date%20Non-Union%20Sponsors%202011.pdf ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |