How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana (2026)
U.S. employment of solar installation technicians is projected to change 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: 42.1% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Louisiana
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology | 69.4 | $5,774 in-state / $11,384 out-of-state | $65,328 | 42% | Yes* | 402 mi |
| 2 | Dallas College | 60.4 | $2,730 in-state / $6,900 out-of-state | Not reported | 32% | Yes* | 320 mi |
| 3 | Southern Crescent Technical College | 54.3 | $3,516 in-state / $6,084 out-of-state | $47,009 | 58% | Yes* | 464 mi |
| 4 | South Georgia Technical College | 54.3 | $3,992 in-state / $7,202 out-of-state | $40,852 | 61% | Yes* | 449 mi |
| 5 | Georgia Northwestern Technical College | 53.6 | $3,300 in-state / $5,868 out-of-state | $44,490 | 43% | Yes* | 444 mi |
| 6 | Crowder College | 52.4 | $6,180 in-state / $8,280 out-of-state | $40,780 | 49% | Yes* | 430 mi |
| 7 | West Georgia Technical College | 51.0 | $3,410 in-state / $5,978 out-of-state | $43,835 | 35% | Yes* | 426 mi |
| 8 | University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana | 49.9 | $3,880 in-state / $5,560 out-of-state | Not reported | 57% | Yes* | 213 mi |
| 9 | Bryan University | 48.4 | $15,868 | $37,432 | 90% | Yes* | 434 mi |
| 10 | Texas State Technical College | 47.6 | $7,212 in-state / $11,812 out-of-state | $55,511 | 46% | Yes* | 318 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Louisiana offers career opportunities for solar installation technicians. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana? Louisiana does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Louisiana? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Louisiana
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Louisiana training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Louisiana that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Louisiana does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Louisiana
Louisiana does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 1. Contact training programs in Louisiana for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Louisiana
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Louisiana’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Louisiana Registered Apprenticeship Division 2.
Contact Information:
- Office: Louisiana Workforce Commission, Apprenticeship
- Address: 1001 N. 23rd Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802
- Phone: (225) 342-7820
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Louisiana
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Louisiana? Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 3.
What training programs are available in Louisiana? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Louisiana. You can also contact the Louisiana Registered Apprenticeship Division for apprenticeship opportunities.
Related guides
In Louisiana
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Alexandria, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bastrop, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bogalusa, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bossier City, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Covington, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Crowley, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Deridder, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Eunice, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Gramercy, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Gretna, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Hammond, Louisiana (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Kenner, Louisiana (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Louisiana
- Best HVAC Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Louisiana
- Best Plumbing Schools in Louisiana (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Louisiana
Explore More Trades in Louisiana
- Electrician in Louisiana
- Plumber in Louisiana
- HVAC Technician in Louisiana
- Welder in Louisiana
- Carpenter in Louisiana
- Auto Mechanic in Louisiana
- CNC Machinist in Louisiana
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Louisiana
- Medical Assistant in Louisiana
- Massage Therapist in Louisiana
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Louisiana Registered Apprenticeship Division: http://www.laworks.net/ORS_websponsorsearch.asp ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |