How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Maryland (2026)
Maryland employs about 670 solar installation technicians earning a median $45,430 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Maryland
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Williamson College of the Trades | 81.5 | $31,611 | $79,194 | 83% | — | 107 mi |
| 2 | Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology | 75.3 | Contact school for pricing | $47,037 | 95% | — | 120 mi |
| 3 | Blue Ridge Community and Technical College | 71.1 | $4,752 in-state / $8,808 out-of-state | $45,612 | 32% | Yes* | 46 mi |
| 4 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | $4,265 in-state / $8,860 out-of-state | $52,814 | 31% | Yes* | 298 mi |
| 5 | UCNJ Union College of Union County, New Jersey | 58.1 | $5,280 in-state / $9,500 out-of-state | Not reported | 35% | Yes* | 184 mi |
| 6 | Mercer County Community College | 55.2 | $5,310 in-state / $9,174 out-of-state | Not reported | 25% | Yes* | 154 mi |
| 7 | Monroe Community College | 50.8 | $6,006 in-state / $11,056 out-of-state | $47,430 | 27% | Yes* | 270 mi |
| 8 | Genesee Community College | 50.0 | $5,900 in-state / $6,500 out-of-state | $48,414 | 31% | Yes* | 268 mi |
| 9 | Delaware Technical Community College-Terry | 48.4 | $5,445 in-state / $12,308 out-of-state | $55,102 | 22% | Yes* | 88 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Maryland employs approximately 670 solar installation technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,430 1. The state’s concentration of solar installation technician jobs is 1.20x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034, with about 4,100 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Maryland, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
- Median wage (Maryland): $45,430 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Maryland
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Maryland? Maryland does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Maryland? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
What do solar installation technicians earn in Maryland? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Maryland is $45,430 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $44,190 and experienced professionals can earn $61,410 or more 1.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Maryland
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Maryland training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Maryland that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Maryland does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Maryland
Maryland does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 3. Contact training programs in Maryland for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Maryland
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Maryland’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Maryland Apprenticeship and Training 4.
Contact Information:
- Office: Maryland Apprenticeship & Training Program, Division of Workforce Development
- Address: 1100 N. Eutaw Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
- Phone: (410) 767-2246
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Maryland
Solar Photovoltaic Installers Wages by Metro Area in Maryland
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), solar photovoltaic installers wages in Maryland vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington | 580 | $58,350 | $61,940 | $50,350 | $88,610 |
| Baltimore-Columbia-Towson | 490 | $45,220 | $50,450 | $44,200 | $61,300 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Maryland? Maryland currently employs approximately 670 solar installation technicians 1. Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Maryland? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Maryland. You can also contact the Maryland Apprenticeship and Training for apprenticeship opportunities.
How much do solar installation technicians earn in Maryland compared to the national average? The median annual wage for solar installation technicians in Maryland is $45,430, which is $6,430 below the national median of $51,860 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Maryland
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Aberdeen, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Annapolis, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Baltimore, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bel Air, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bowie, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Cambridge, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Chesapeake Beach, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in College Park, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Columbia, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Cumberland, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Easton, Maryland (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Elkton, Maryland (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Maryland
- Best HVAC Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Maryland
- Best Plumbing Schools in Maryland (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Maryland
Explore More Trades in Maryland
- Electrician in Maryland
- Plumber in Maryland
- HVAC Technician in Maryland
- Welder in Maryland
- Carpenter in Maryland
- Auto Mechanic in Maryland
- CNC Machinist in Maryland
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Maryland
- Medical Assistant in Maryland
- Massage Therapist in Maryland
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Maryland Apprenticeship and Training: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/employment/approcc/approcclinks.shtml ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |