How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Missouri (2026)
U.S. employment of solar installation technicians is projected to change 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: 42.1% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Missouri
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | Contact school for pricing | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 189 mi |
| 2 | Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology | 69.4 | $5,774 - $17,256 | $65,328 | 42% | Yes* | 259 mi |
| 3 | Southwest Wisconsin Technical College | 65.2 | Contact school for pricing | $50,757 | 60% | Yes* | 338 mi |
| 4 | Dallas College | 60.4 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 449 mi |
| 5 | Riverland Community College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,768 | 53% | Yes* | 368 mi |
| 6 | Sauk Valley Community College | 59.1 | Contact school for pricing | $54,209 | 50% | Yes* | 291 mi |
| 7 | Cloud County Community College | 59.0 | Contact school for pricing | $45,359 | 51% | Yes* | 278 mi |
| 8 | Western Technical College | 56.2 | Contact school for pricing | $53,114 | 36% | Yes* | 385 mi |
| 9 | Triton College | 54.9 | Contact school for pricing | $52,701 | Not reported | Yes* | 356 mi |
| 10 | Crowder College | 52.4 | Contact school for pricing | $40,780 | 46% | Yes* | 139 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Missouri offers career opportunities for solar installation technicians. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Missouri, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Missouri
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Missouri? Missouri does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Missouri? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Missouri
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Missouri training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Missouri that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Missouri does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Missouri
Missouri does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 1. Contact training programs in Missouri for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Missouri
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years. Missouri’s apprenticeship program is administered by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education - On-the-Job Training & Apprenticeship 2.
Contact Information:
- Office: Missouri Division of Workforce Development
- Address: 3315 W. Truman Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65102-0599
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Missouri
Solar Photovoltaic Installers Wages by Metro Area in Missouri
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), solar photovoltaic installers wages in Missouri vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kansas City | N/A | $49,990 | $54,370 | $47,320 | $61,630 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Missouri? Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 3.
What training programs are available in Missouri? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Missouri. You can also contact the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education - On-the-Job Training & Apprenticeship for apprenticeship opportunities.
Related guides
In Missouri
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Arnold, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Ballwin, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bellefontaine Neighbors, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Belton, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Blue Springs, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bolivar, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Branson, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bridgeton, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Cape Girardeau, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Carthage, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Chesterfield, Missouri (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Clayton, Missouri (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Missouri
- Best HVAC Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Missouri
- Best Plumbing Schools in Missouri (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Missouri
Explore More Trades in Missouri
- Electrician in Missouri
- Plumber in Missouri
- HVAC Technician in Missouri
- Welder in Missouri
- Carpenter in Missouri
- Auto Mechanic in Missouri
- CNC Machinist in Missouri
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Missouri
- Medical Assistant in Missouri
- Massage Therapist in Missouri
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education - On-the-Job Training & Apprenticeship: https://www.apprenticeship.gov/ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |