How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma (2026)
U.S. employment of solar installation technicians is projected to change 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 (BLS Employment Projections). No statewide license is required; most solar installation technicians train through a certificate program and earn an industry certification before employers will hire them.
Sponsored - request program info
Key Facts
- Projected growth: 42.1% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Compare Solar Installation Technician Schools in Oklahoma
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flint Hills Technical College | 75.5 | $6,400 | $52,442 | 68% | Yes* | 184 mi |
| 2 | Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology | 69.4 | $5,774 in-state / $11,384 out-of-state | $65,328 | 42% | Yes* | 58 mi |
| 3 | Dallas College | 60.4 | $2,730 in-state / $6,900 out-of-state | Not reported | 32% | Yes* | 211 mi |
| 4 | Cloud County Community College | 59.0 | $3,540 in-state / $4,500 out-of-state | $45,359 | 55% | Yes* | 261 mi |
| 5 | Colby Community College | 57.8 | $4,140 in-state / $5,830 out-of-state | $41,509 | 55% | Yes* | 333 mi |
| 6 | Crowder College | 52.4 | $6,180 in-state / $8,280 out-of-state | $40,780 | 49% | Yes* | 159 mi |
| 7 | University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana | 49.9 | $3,880 in-state / $5,560 out-of-state | Not reported | 57% | Yes* | 243 mi |
| 8 | Bryan University | 48.4 | $15,868 | $37,432 | 90% | Yes* | 225 mi |
| 9 | Texas State Technical College | 47.6 | $7,212 in-state / $11,812 out-of-state | $55,511 | 46% | Yes* | 289 mi |
| 10 | Clovis Community College | 46.6 | $1,592 in-state / $3,344 out-of-state | $59,171 | 34% | Yes* | 364 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Oklahoma offers career opportunities for solar installation technicians. This page covers how to become a Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma, including certification options, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: trade school, community college, or apprenticeship
- Typical timeline: 1 to 5 years depending on the path
Quick Answers About How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma
How to become a Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma? Oklahoma does not require a state license for solar installation technicians, but employers typically expect industry certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification. Complete a training program to prepare.
How long does it take? Most paths into the solar installation technician field take 1 to 5 years, depending on whether you complete a trade school program, a registered apprenticeship, or a combination of both.
Do I need a license in Oklahoma? No state license is required, but certifications such as NABCEP PV Associate Certification and OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification are expected by most employers.
How to Become a Solar Installation Technician in Oklahoma
- Finish high school or earn a GED. Most Oklahoma training programs and registered apprenticeships require a high school diploma or GED to enroll.
- Complete a training program or apprenticeship. Enroll in an approved trade school program or a registered apprenticeship in Oklahoma that combines classroom instruction with supervised hands-on hours.
- Gain supervised work experience. Build documented on-the-job hours under a qualified supervisor; confirm the exact total currently required with the licensing board.
- Earn an industry certification. While Oklahoma does not require a statewide license, earn NABCEP PV Associate Certification to meet employer expectations and improve hiring prospects.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Solar Installation Technician Certification Options in Oklahoma
Oklahoma does not require a state license to work as a solar installation technician. However, industry certifications can strengthen your resume and may be required by employers.
Common certifications for solar installation technicians include:
- NABCEP PV Associate Certification
- OSHA 10/30 Safety Certification
For more information, visit the NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners 1. Contact training programs in Oklahoma for details on certification preparation courses.
Solar Installation Technician Apprenticeship Information in Oklahoma
Apprenticeships combine paid on-the-job training with classroom instruction and typically last 3 to 5 years.
Contact Information:
- Office: Oklahoma CareerTech
- Address: 1500 West 7th Ave., Stillwater, OK 74074
- Phone: (405) 231-4338
- Email: [email protected]
Solar Installation Technician Wages by Metro Area in Oklahoma
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for solar installation technicians in Oklahoma? Nationally, solar installation technician employment is projected to grow 42.1% from 2024 to 2034 2.
What training programs are available in Oklahoma? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and apprenticeship programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Oklahoma.
Related guides
In Oklahoma
Top local programs
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Ada, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Altus, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Ardmore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bartlesville, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bethany, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Bixby, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Chickasha, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Choctaw, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Claremore, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Del City, Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Solar Installation Technician Schools in Duncan, Oklahoma (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Oklahoma
- Best HVAC Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Oklahoma
- Best Plumbing Schools in Oklahoma (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Oklahoma
Explore More Trades in Oklahoma
- Electrician in Oklahoma
- Plumber in Oklahoma
- HVAC Technician in Oklahoma
- Welder in Oklahoma
- Carpenter in Oklahoma
- Auto Mechanic in Oklahoma
- CNC Machinist in Oklahoma
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Oklahoma
- Medical Assistant in Oklahoma
- Massage Therapist in Oklahoma
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
NABCEP - Board of Certified Energy Practitioners: https://www.nabcep.org/ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |