How to Become a Sonography Technician in North Carolina (2026)
North Carolina employs about 2,970 sonography technicians earning a median $86,010 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Sonography Technician here means completing a CAAHEP-accredited diagnostic medical sonography program plus ARDMS or CCI. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (North Carolina): $86,010/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in North Carolina: 2,970 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.04x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 13.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Sonography Technician Schools in North Carolina
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sovah School of Health Professions | 80.6 | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | — | 80 mi |
| 2 | Johnston Community College | 64.4 | $2,756 - $11,230 | $48,144 | 32% | Yes* | 80 mi |
| 3 | Central Carolina Community College | 60.6 | Contact school for pricing | $42,844 | Not reported | Yes* | 34 mi |
| 4 | Wake Technical Community College | 55.3 | Contact school for pricing | $49,034 | Not reported | Yes* | 61 mi |
| 5 | Forsyth Technical Community College | 52.9 | Contact school for pricing | $48,625 | 31% | Yes* | 51 mi |
| 6 | Spartanburg Community College | 51.3 | Contact school for pricing | $48,991 | Not reported | Yes* | 130 mi |
| 7 | Horry-Georgetown Technical College | 50.3 | Contact school for pricing | $46,000 | 32% | Yes* | 122 mi |
| 8 | Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute | 46.9 | Contact school for pricing | $43,377 | Not reported | Yes* | 101 mi |
| 9 | Southeastern College-Charlotte | 46.8 | Contact school for pricing | $35,871 | 69% | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 10 | Fayetteville Technical Community College | 45.5 | Contact school for pricing | $48,138 | 22% | Yes* | 54 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
North Carolina employs approximately 2,970 sonography technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $86,010 1. Nationally, sonography technician employment is projected to grow 13.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 5,800 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Sonography Technician in North Carolina, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: CAAHEP-accredited sonography program (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a CAAHEP-accredited diagnostic medical sonography program plus ARDMS or CCI
- Exam: ARDMS or CCI
- Median wage (North Carolina): $86,010 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Sonography Technician in North Carolina
How to become a Sonography Technician in North Carolina? Complete a CAAHEP-accredited diagnostic medical sonography program plus ARDMS or CCI. Apply through the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP-accredited diagnostic medical sonography program plus ARDMS or CCI. Confirm current hour totals with the program and the program and employer.
Do I need a license in North Carolina? Yes. North Carolina typically registers this role through the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do sonography technicians earn in North Carolina? The median annual wage for sonography technicians in North Carolina is $86,010 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $67,070 and experienced professionals can earn $105,530 or more 1.
How to Become a Sonography Technician in North Carolina
- Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED and science prerequisites.
- Complete a CAAHEP-accredited sonography program. Finish a diagnostic medical sonography program in North Carolina. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn ARDMS or CCI. Pass ARDMS or CCI specialty exams employers expect.
- Confirm state licensure. Some states license sonographers. Confirm with the program and employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Sonography Technician License Requirements in North Carolina
Sonographers typically complete a CAAHEP-accredited program and earn ARDMS or CCI. Some states add licensure.
Typical path
Complete a CAAHEP-accredited program.
Earn ARDMS or CCI.
Apply for state licensure if North Carolina requires it.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.
Sonography Technician Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
Diagnostic Medical Sonographers Wages by Metro Area in North Carolina
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), diagnostic medical sonographers wages in North Carolina vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia | 730 | $98,650 | $93,240 | $78,070 | $107,950 |
| Raleigh-Cary | 430 | $86,130 | $88,110 | $72,900 | $109,380 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk | 370 | $86,630 | $88,890 | $75,620 | $104,770 |
| Winston-Salem | 250 | $87,220 | $89,270 | $69,640 | $104,320 |
| Wilmington | 170 | $81,480 | $84,900 | $66,890 | $103,270 |
| Greensboro-High Point | 150 | $98,890 | $91,330 | $66,810 | $103,820 |
| Asheville | 120 | $81,920 | $83,220 | $66,700 | $99,930 |
| Greenville | 120 | $76,380 | $75,590 | $62,250 | $97,900 |
| Fayetteville | 70 | $78,860 | $82,180 | $70,470 | $107,290 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton | 50 | $83,510 | $83,360 | $69,600 | $99,970 |
| Burlington | 40 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines | 40 | $84,520 | $91,240 | $74,080 | $99,210 |
| Rocky Mount | 30 | $82,530 | $82,080 | $65,380 | $105,490 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for sonography technicians in North Carolina? North Carolina currently employs approximately 2,970 sonography technicians 1. Nationally, sonography technician employment is projected to grow 13.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a sonography technician in North Carolina with an out-of-state license? Contact the program and employer for details on reciprocity and credential transfer.
What training programs are available in North Carolina? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in North Carolina.
How much do sonography technicians earn in North Carolina compared to the national average? The median annual wage for sonography technicians in North Carolina is $86,010, which is $3,330 below the national median of $89,340 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In North Carolina
Top local programs
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Albemarle, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Apex, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Archdale, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Archer Lodge, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Asheboro, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Asheville, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Belmont, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Boone, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Brevard, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Burlington, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Butner, North Carolina (2026)
- Best Sonography & Ultrasound Programs in Carrboro, North Carolina (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in North Carolina
- Best HVAC Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in North Carolina
- Best Plumbing Schools in North Carolina (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in North Carolina
Explore More Trades in North Carolina
- Electrician in North Carolina
- Plumber in North Carolina
- HVAC Technician in North Carolina
- Welder in North Carolina
- Carpenter in North Carolina
- Solar Installation Technician in North Carolina
- Auto Mechanic in North Carolina
- CNC Machinist in North Carolina
- Certified Nursing Assistant in North Carolina
- Medical Assistant in North Carolina
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |