How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Arizona (2026)

Arizona employs about 2,320 sterile processing technicians earning a median $46,790 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Sterile Processing Technician here means completing a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Arizona): $46,790/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Arizona: 2,320 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.44x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 10.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Sterile Processing Technician Schools in Arizona

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
167.4Contact school for pricing$54,76237%Yes*68 mi
260.1Contact school for pricing$39,69259%Yes*85 mi
357.1$2,948 - $14,988$57,28833%Yes*149 mi
452.6Contact school for pricing$54,874Not reportedYes*256 mi
551.8Contact school for pricing$48,65230%Yes*308 mi
648.7Contact school for pricing$54,87417%Yes*258 mi
746.5Contact school for pricing$39,71223%Yes*286 mi
845.0Contact school for pricing$59,818Not reported239 mi
938.7Contact school for pricing$54,874Not reportedYes*304 mi
1036.2Contact school for pricing$50,09864%66 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Arizona employs approximately 2,320 sterile processing technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $46,790 1. The state’s concentration of sterile processing technician jobs is 1.44x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 10,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Arizona, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: sterile-processing program or OJT (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role
  • Exam: HSPA CRCST
  • Median wage (Arizona): $46,790 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Arizona

How to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Arizona? Complete a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Arizona? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.

What do sterile processing technicians earn in Arizona? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Arizona is $46,790 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,290 and experienced professionals can earn $60,760 or more 1.

How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Arizona

  1. Complete a sterile-processing program or OJT. Finish a program or documented on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  2. Earn CRCST. Pass the HSPA CRCST exam. Confirm any state registration with the employer.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.

Sterile Processing Technician License Requirements in Arizona

Sterile-processing technicians typically earn CRCST. Some states add registration.

Typical path

  1. Complete training.

  2. Earn CRCST.

  3. Register if the state requires it.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.

Sterile Processing Technician Wages by Metro Area in Arizona

Medical Equipment Preparers Wages by Metro Area in Arizona

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical equipment preparers wages in Arizona vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler1,800$47,320$47,280$35,280$61,240
Tucson260$44,610$45,820$37,200$58,110
Prescott Valley-Prescott40$43,950$44,590$31,330$58,180

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for sterile processing technicians in Arizona? Arizona currently employs approximately 2,320 sterile processing technicians 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.

Can I work as a sterile processing technician in Arizona with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.

What training programs are available in Arizona? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arizona.

How much do sterile processing technicians earn in Arizona compared to the national average? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Arizona is $46,790, which is $300 above the national median of $46,490 according to BLS data 1.

In Arizona

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Arizona

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)