How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Florida (2026)
Florida employs about 5,250 sterile processing technicians earning a median $45,890 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Sterile Processing Technician here means completing a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Florida): $45,890/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Florida: 5,250 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 1.06x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 10.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Sterile Processing Technician Schools in Florida
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Indian River State College | 68.6 | Contact school for pricing | $47,615 | 44% | Yes* | 80 mi |
| 2 | Eastern Florida State College | 63.6 | $2,496 - $11,966 | $49,053 | 52% | Yes* | 59 mi |
| 3 | Santa Fe College | 63.4 | Contact school for pricing | $53,155 | Not reported | Yes* | 136 mi |
| 4 | Atlantic Technical College | 61.0 | Contact school for pricing | $40,638 | 60% | Yes* | 140 mi |
| 5 | Lindsey Hopkins Technical College | 46.5 | Contact school for pricing | $40,251 | 52% | — | 157 mi |
| 6 | Concorde Career Institute-Orlando | 44.8 | Contact school for pricing | $40,001 | 66% | — | 51 mi |
| 7 | Concorde Career Institute-Miramar | 42.7 | Contact school for pricing | $39,429 | 65% | — | 152 mi |
| 8 | Pinellas Technical College-St. Petersburg | 42.2 | Contact school for pricing | $40,318 | Not reported | Yes* | 68 mi |
| 9 | Concorde Career Institute-Tampa | 41.8 | Contact school for pricing | $37,344 | 61% | — | 58 mi |
| 10 | Concorde Career Institute-Jacksonville | 38.0 | Contact school for pricing | $40,001 | 48% | — | 165 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Florida employs approximately 5,250 sterile processing technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $45,890 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 10,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: sterile-processing program or OJT (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role
- Exam: HSPA CRCST
- Median wage (Florida): $45,890 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Florida
How to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Florida? Complete a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Florida? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do sterile processing technicians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Florida is $45,890 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $35,630 and experienced professionals can earn $62,000 or more 1.
How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Florida
- Complete a sterile-processing program or OJT. Finish a program or documented on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CRCST. Pass the HSPA CRCST exam. Confirm any state registration with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Sterile Processing Technician License Requirements in Florida
Sterile-processing technicians typically earn CRCST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete training.
Earn CRCST.
Register if the state requires it.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Sterile Processing Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida
Medical Equipment Preparers Wages by Metro Area in Florida
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical equipment preparers wages in Florida vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach | 1,350 | $46,330 | $48,480 | $35,870 | $64,220 |
| Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater | 920 | $47,180 | $49,200 | $36,950 | $75,920 |
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford | 860 | $43,680 | $45,040 | $34,250 | $59,550 |
| Jacksonville | 430 | $46,030 | $46,630 | $37,140 | $57,350 |
| Cape Coral-Fort Myers | 220 | $47,020 | $48,110 | $37,120 | $59,190 |
| North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota | 210 | $50,510 | $49,120 | $38,030 | $60,820 |
| Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach | 160 | $40,760 | $41,840 | $31,200 | $49,260 |
| Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent | 130 | $46,780 | $46,010 | $35,690 | $59,050 |
| Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville | 120 | $41,550 | $42,700 | $35,360 | $56,690 |
| Port St. Lucie | 120 | $39,490 | $44,160 | $29,960 | $61,630 |
| Lakeland-Winter Haven | 100 | $40,100 | $41,300 | $34,450 | $49,130 |
| Ocala | 60 | $44,120 | $45,680 | $36,830 | $59,610 |
| Naples-Marco Island | 50 | $43,550 | $48,880 | $36,130 | $65,690 |
| Tallahassee | 50 | $36,250 | $40,620 | $30,240 | $57,560 |
| Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor | 40 | $45,410 | $45,450 | $34,070 | $61,510 |
| Homosassa Springs | 30 | $42,730 | $42,260 | $30,560 | $55,130 |
| Wildwood-The Villages | 30 | $37,880 | $40,770 | $31,200 | $46,440 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for sterile processing technicians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 5,250 sterile processing technicians 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a sterile processing technician in Florida with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.
How much do sterile processing technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Florida is $45,890, which is $600 below the national median of $46,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Florida
Top local programs
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Alachua, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Anna Maria, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Apalachicola, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Arcadia, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Archer, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Astatula, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Atlantic Beach, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Atlantis, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Auburndale, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Avon Park, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Belleair Bluffs, Florida (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Belleair Shore, Florida (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Florida
- Best HVAC Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Florida
- Best Plumbing Schools in Florida (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Florida
Explore More Trades in Florida
- Electrician in Florida
- Plumber in Florida
- HVAC Technician in Florida
- Welder in Florida
- Carpenter in Florida
- Solar Installation Technician in Florida
- Auto Mechanic in Florida
- CNC Machinist in Florida
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Florida
- Medical Assistant in Florida
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |