How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in West Virginia (2026)
West Virginia employs about 530 sterile processing technicians earning a median $44,830 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Sterile Processing Technician here means completing a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Compare Sterile Processing Technician Schools in West Virginia
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition (published, per year) | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Martinsburg College | 63.8 | Contact school for pricing | $32,883 | 60% | Yes* | 186 mi |
| 2 | Lorain County Community College | 58.2 | $4,265 in-state / $8,860 out-of-state | $52,814 | 31% | Yes* | 195 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 3 | Sinclair Community College | 55.7 | $3,675 in-state / $8,556 out-of-state | $48,980 | 41% | Yes* | 175 mi |
| 4 | Cuyahoga Community College District | 47.6 | $3,249 in-state / $7,249 out-of-state | $49,698 | 31% | Yes* | 197 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 5 | Stark State College | 46.3 | $4,790 in-state / $7,886 out-of-state | $49,440 | 23% | Yes* | 153 mi |
| 6 | Community College of Allegheny County | 40.9 | $4,842 in-state / $12,583 out-of-state | $54,519 | 24% | Yes* | 140 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
| 7 | Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College | 32.7 | $5,136 in-state / $7,872 out-of-state | $37,021 | 29% | Yes* | 69 mi |
| 8 | Eastern Gateway Community College | Not rated | Contact school for pricing | Not reported | Not reported | Yes* | 122 mi |
Sponsored Ad | |||||||
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
West Virginia employs approximately 530 sterile processing technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $44,830 1. The state’s concentration of sterile processing technician jobs is 1.51x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 10,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Sterile Processing Technician in West Virginia, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: sterile-processing program or OJT (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role
- Exam: HSPA CRCST
- Median wage (West Virginia): $44,830 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in West Virginia
How to become a Sterile Processing Technician in West Virginia? Complete a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in West Virginia? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do sterile processing technicians earn in West Virginia? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in West Virginia is $44,830 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $34,690 and experienced professionals can earn $51,970 or more 1.
How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in West Virginia
- Complete a sterile-processing program or OJT. Finish a program or documented on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CRCST. Pass the HSPA CRCST exam. Confirm any state registration with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Sterile Processing Technician License Requirements in West Virginia
Sterile-processing technicians typically earn CRCST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete training.
Earn CRCST.
Register if the state requires it.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Sterile Processing Technician Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
Medical Equipment Preparers Wages by Metro Area in West Virginia
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical equipment preparers wages in West Virginia vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington-Arlington-Alexandria | 1,070 | $50,600 | $54,410 | $39,110 | $76,890 |
| Charleston | 100 | $45,610 | $42,850 | $35,080 | $51,970 |
| Huntington-Ashland | 100 | $46,170 | $47,860 | $37,420 | $62,420 |
| Hagerstown-Martinsburg | 50 | $47,630 | $47,580 | $37,890 | $58,990 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for sterile processing technicians in West Virginia? West Virginia currently employs approximately 530 sterile processing technicians 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a sterile processing technician in West Virginia with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in West Virginia? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in West Virginia.
How much do sterile processing technicians earn in West Virginia compared to the national average? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in West Virginia is $44,830, which is $1,660 below the national median of $46,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In West Virginia
Top local programs
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Beckley, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Bluefield, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Charles Town, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Charleston, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Clarksburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Elkins, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Fairmont, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Huntington, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Martinsburg, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Morgantown, West Virginia (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Parkersburg, West Virginia (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in West Virginia
- Best HVAC Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in West Virginia
- Best Plumbing Schools in West Virginia (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in West Virginia
Explore More Trades in West Virginia
- Electrician in West Virginia
- Plumber in West Virginia
- HVAC Technician in West Virginia
- Welder in West Virginia
- Carpenter in West Virginia
- Solar Installation Technician in West Virginia
- Auto Mechanic in West Virginia
- CNC Machinist in West Virginia
- Certified Nursing Assistant in West Virginia
- Medical Assistant in West Virginia
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |