How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Wyoming (2026)
Wyoming employs about 120 sterile processing technicians earning a median $48,210 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Sterile Processing Technician here means completing a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
Key Facts
- Median wage (Wyoming): $48,210/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Employed in Wyoming: 120 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Location quotient: 0.83x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
- Projected growth: 10.0% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)
Sponsored - request program info
Compare Sterile Processing Technician Schools in Wyoming
| # | School | BOC Score (0–100) | Tuition | Median grad earnings (all majors) | Graduation rate | Online | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Williston State College | 70.1 | $6,128 - $16,651 | $54,746 | 41% | Yes* | 427 mi |
| 2 | Front Range Community College | 61.3 | Contact school for pricing | $50,353 | 32% | Yes* | 194 mi |
| 3 | Mountainland Technical College | 59.3 | Contact school for pricing | $39,284 | 81% | — | 298 mi |
| 4 | Dodge City Community College | 55.2 | Contact school for pricing | $48,311 | 33% | Yes* | 477 mi |
| 5 | San Juan College | 53.0 | Contact school for pricing | $46,786 | Not reported | Yes* | 395 mi |
| 6 | Aims Community College | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $51,704 | Not reported | Yes* | 171 mi |
| 7 | Pima Medical Institute-Denver | 52.8 | Contact school for pricing | $42,937 | Not reported | — | 205 mi |
| 8 | Pueblo Community College | 51.5 | Contact school for pricing | $49,179 | 34% | Yes* | 306 mi |
| 9 | University of New Mexico-Gallup Campus | 45.0 | Contact school for pricing | $59,818 | Not reported | — | 487 mi |
| 10 | Community College of Denver | 37.0 | $4,902 - $19,550 | $53,984 | 18% | Yes* | 204 mi |
Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.
Wyoming employs approximately 120 sterile processing technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $48,210 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034, with about 10,900 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Wyoming, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.
At a Glance
- Training paths: sterile-processing program or OJT (find programs)
- Typical timeline: a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role
- Exam: HSPA CRCST
- Median wage (Wyoming): $48,210 per year 1
Quick Answers About How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Wyoming
How to become a Sterile Processing Technician in Wyoming? Complete a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.
How long does it take? Most people finish a sterile-processing program or on-the-job training plus CRCST; some states register the role. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.
Do I need a license in Wyoming? Licensing varies. Confirm with the program and employer. See the licensing section below.
What do sterile processing technicians earn in Wyoming? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Wyoming is $48,210 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $37,590 and experienced professionals can earn $60,220 or more 1.
How to Become a Sterile Processing Technician in Wyoming
- Complete a sterile-processing program or OJT. Finish a program or documented on-the-job training. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
- Earn CRCST. Pass the HSPA CRCST exam. Confirm any state registration with the employer.
Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the state board before you apply.
Sterile Processing Technician License Requirements in Wyoming
Sterile-processing technicians typically earn CRCST. Some states add registration.
Typical path
Complete training.
Earn CRCST.
Register if the state requires it.
Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the employer before you enroll.
Sterile Processing Technician Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
Medical Equipment Preparers Wages by Metro Area in Wyoming
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), medical equipment preparers wages in Wyoming vary by metro area.
| Metro Area | Employment | Median Annual Wage | Avg. Annual Wage | Entry Level (10th pctile) | Experienced (90th pctile) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Kentwood | 300 | $45,870 | $45,730 | $37,750 | $57,780 |
Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the job outlook for sterile processing technicians in Wyoming? Wyoming currently employs approximately 120 sterile processing technicians 1. Nationally, sterile processing technician employment is projected to grow 10.0% from 2024 to 2034 2.
Can I work as a sterile processing technician in Wyoming with an out-of-state license? Confirm reciprocity rules with the program and employer.
What training programs are available in Wyoming? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Wyoming.
How much do sterile processing technicians earn in Wyoming compared to the national average? The median annual wage for sterile processing technicians in Wyoming is $48,210, which is $1,720 above the national median of $46,490 according to BLS data 1.
Related guides
In Wyoming
Top local programs
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Programs in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Casper, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Cheyenne, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Evanston, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Gillette, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Green River, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Jackson, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Laramie, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Rock Springs, Wyoming (2026)
- Best Sterile Processing Tech Schools in Sheridan, Wyoming (2026)
Related trades & nearby areas
- Best Carpenter Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Electrician Schools in Wyoming
- Best HVAC Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Plumber Schools in Wyoming
- Best Plumbing Schools in Wyoming (2026)
- Best Welder Schools in Wyoming
Explore More Trades in Wyoming
- Electrician in Wyoming
- Plumber in Wyoming
- HVAC Technician in Wyoming
- Welder in Wyoming
- Carpenter in Wyoming
- Solar Installation Technician in Wyoming
- Auto Mechanic in Wyoming
- CNC Machinist in Wyoming
- Certified Nursing Assistant in Wyoming
- Medical Assistant in Wyoming
Citations
About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.
References
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎
Data sources
Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.
| Data | Provider | Vintage |
|---|---|---|
| Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | May 2025 |
| Employment Projections | U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics | 2024-2034 |
| Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System | National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) | 2024 |
| College Scorecard (school-level outcomes) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release |
| College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings) | U.S. Department of Education | latest release (updated 2026-06-12) |
| Occupational licensing requirements | CareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2026-02-22) |
| Registered apprenticeship programs | CareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor) | latest release (updated 2025-10-25) |
| O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones) | U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.) | O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13) |