How to Become a Surgical Technician in Arkansas (2026)

Arkansas employs about 1,640 surgical technicians earning a median $57,400 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.

Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Arkansas

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Tuition is the published annual figure for the latest reported year and excludes room, board, books and fees. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)Tuition (published, per year)Median grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
163.8$7,334 in-state / $12,182 out-of-state$49,99838%Yes*117 mi
258.6$13,987$67,066Not reported—18 mi
Sponsored Ad
357.5$3,820 in-state / $6,820 out-of-state$46,18847%Yes*80 mi
457.3$3,312 in-state / $4,752 out-of-state$50,12946%Yes*81 mi
Sponsored Ad
553.8$6,277$47,27574%—129 mi
653.5Contact school for pricing$40,42183%—125 mi
Sponsored Ad
749.9$3,880 in-state / $5,560 out-of-stateNot reported57%Yes*115 mi
849.6$3,324 in-state / $5,532 out-of-state$48,09930%Yes*123 mi
Sponsored Ad
947.0$3,504 in-state / $5,592 out-of-state$46,21042%Yes*95 mi
1041.7$6,300 in-state / $9,450 out-of-state$41,80736%Yes*13 mi
Sponsored Ad

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Arkansas employs approximately 1,640 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $57,400 1. The state’s concentration of surgical technician jobs is 1.66x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Arkansas, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
  • Exam: NBSTSA CST
  • Median wage (Arkansas): $57,400 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Arkansas

How to become a Surgical Technician in Arkansas? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Arkansas? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.

What do surgical technicians earn in Arkansas? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Arkansas is $57,400 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $38,750 and experienced professionals can earn $75,460 or more 1.

How to Become a Surgical Technician in Arkansas

  1. Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
  2. Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Arkansas. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
  4. Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician License Requirements in Arkansas

Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.

Typical path

  1. Complete an accredited surgical technology program.

  2. Pass CST.

  3. Register with the state if required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas

Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Arkansas

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Arkansas vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Little Rock-North Little Rock-Conway640$60,910$59,680$39,930$76,330
Memphis630$61,150$60,050$49,390$77,630
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers290$61,080$62,310$40,620$75,760
Fort Smith170$61,890$65,140$40,390$102,400
Jonesboro140$49,590$51,380$31,520$65,320

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Arkansas? Arkansas currently employs approximately 1,640 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Arkansas? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Arkansas.

How much do surgical technicians earn in Arkansas compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Arkansas is $57,400, which is $5,430 below the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Arkansas

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Arkansas

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)