How to Become a Surgical Technician in Florida (2026)

Florida employs about 9,120 surgical technicians earning a median $62,440 a year (BLS OEWS, May 2025). Training as a Surgical Technician here means completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST.

Key Facts

  • Median wage (Florida): $62,440/yr (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Employed in Florida: 9,120 workers (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Location quotient: 1.22x U.S. average (Source: BLS OEWS, 2025)
  • Projected growth: 4.5% (2024-2034) (Source: BLS Employment Projections, 2024)

Sponsored - request program info

Compare Surgical Technician Schools in Florida

BOC Score, tuition, graduation rate, and median graduate earnings from federal IPEDS and U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard data. Earnings are reported across all programs at the school (all majors), not a single trade. Distance is measured from the page's primary location.
#SchoolBOC Score (0–100)TuitionMedian grad earnings (all majors)Graduation rateOnlineDistance
174.6Contact school for pricing$54,088Not reportedYes*67 mi
273.8$3,165 - $11,859$48,61949%Yes*19 mi
373.3Contact school for pricing$38,75586%26 mi
463.6$2,496 - $11,966$49,05352%Yes*59 mi
562.2Contact school for pricing$45,04972%66 mi
661.2Contact school for pricing$49,78434%Yes*54 mi
760.6Contact school for pricing$41,51880%53 mi
849.6Contact school for pricing$34,945Not reported49 mi
944.8Contact school for pricing$40,00166%51 mi
1042.2Contact school for pricing$40,318Not reportedYes*68 mi

Schools closest to the page's primary location are gathered first, then ranked by BOC Score; distance from the page's primary location is shown for reference. The BOC Score is an independent measure of school outcomes (graduation, earnings, net price, retention) expressed as a 0–100 percentile within each school's peer group; higher is better and advertising never affects it. *Online availability refers to coursework; hands-on trade training is completed in person. Read the full methodology.

Florida employs approximately 9,120 surgical technicians according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, with a median annual wage of $62,440 1. The state’s concentration of surgical technician jobs is 1.22x the national average, indicating strong demand. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034, with about 7,000 openings per year 2. This page covers how to become a Surgical Technician in Florida, including licensing requirements, training programs, and salary data.

At a Glance

  • Training paths: CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program (find programs)
  • Typical timeline: a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST
  • Exam: NBSTSA CST
  • Median wage (Florida): $62,440 per year 1

Quick Answers About How to Become a Surgical Technician in Florida

How to become a Surgical Technician in Florida? Complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm credential rules with the program and employer.

How long does it take? Most people finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited surgical technology program plus CST. Confirm current hour totals with the program and employer.

Do I need a license in Florida? Most states do not require a statewide occupational license. Employers typically expect NBSTSA CST. See the licensing section below.

What do surgical technicians earn in Florida? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Florida is $62,440 according to BLS data. Entry-level wages start around $41,270 and experienced professionals can earn $85,620 or more 1.

How to Become a Surgical Technician in Florida

  1. Meet program entry rules. Programs typically require a high school diploma or GED.
  2. Complete an accredited surgical technology program. Finish a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program in Florida. This is not a registered apprenticeship.
  3. Pass CST. Pass the NBSTSA Certified Surgical Technologist exam.
  4. Confirm state registration. Some states register surgical technologists. Confirm with the program and employer rather than assuming a statewide license everywhere.

Steps and hour totals vary by credential level; confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician License Requirements in Florida

Surgical technologists typically complete a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program and pass CST. Some states add registration.

Typical path

  1. Complete an accredited surgical technology program.

  2. Pass CST.

  3. Register with the state if required.

Hour totals, fees, and reciprocity rules change. Confirm current requirements with the program and employer before you enroll.

Surgical Technician Wages by Metro Area in Florida

Surgical Technologists Wages by Metro Area in Florida

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics ( OES data), surgical technologists wages in Florida vary by metro area.

Metro AreaEmploymentMedian Annual WageAvg. Annual WageEntry Level
(10th pctile)
Experienced
(90th pctile)
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach2,200$65,520$70,230$42,140$101,130
Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford1,490$61,730$61,920$39,950$79,080
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater1,260$62,910$66,670$45,990$98,160
Jacksonville850$64,070$65,900$47,210$79,340
North Port-Bradenton-Sarasota380$60,840$60,110$41,270$79,900
Cape Coral-Fort Myers350$61,780$63,230$39,030$78,580
Deltona-Daytona Beach-Ormond Beach340$59,400$58,970$37,170$77,370
Lakeland-Winter Haven280$59,540$58,820$44,150$68,160
Palm Bay-Melbourne-Titusville230$50,500$54,760$37,010$72,810
Pensacola-Ferry Pass-Brent220$60,520$62,560$45,930$79,290
Port St. Lucie200$65,780$67,600$45,410$103,790
Tallahassee170$52,190$50,220$32,800$71,150
Ocala140$59,070$59,750$37,950$78,120
Naples-Marco Island110$64,910$66,170$52,160$81,130
Crestview-Fort Walton Beach-Destin90$61,830$60,270$44,810$76,390
Sebastian-Vero Beach-West Vero Corridor80$63,530$63,120$39,460$79,700
Panama City-Panama City Beach70$58,570$54,020$36,440$73,330
Punta Gorda50$62,450$60,480$44,790$75,710

Wages reflect survey data and vary based on experience, credentials, employer, and local market conditions. Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May .

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the job outlook for surgical technicians in Florida? Florida currently employs approximately 9,120 surgical technicians 1. Nationally, surgical technician employment is projected to grow 4.5% from 2024 to 2034 2.

What training programs are available in Florida? Options include trade schools, community colleges, and state-approved training programs. Use the school finder above to search for programs in Florida.

How much do surgical technicians earn in Florida compared to the national average? The median annual wage for surgical technicians in Florida is $62,440, which is $390 below the national median of $62,830 according to BLS data 1.

In Florida

Top local programs

Explore More Trades in Florida

Citations

About this guide: Researched and written by the TradeCareerPath Editorial Team. Our editorial team researches and sources every trade school and career guide using federal labor and education data, including BLS OEWS and Employment Projections, DOL apprenticeship records, IPEDS, College Scorecard, and state licensing boards. We follow the editorial standards documented at /editorial-policy/.

References


  1. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/oes/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Employment Projections: https://www.bls.gov/emp/ ↩︎ ↩︎

Data sources

Figures on this page are sourced from the federal and state datasets below. Methodology: how we rank and source data.

DataProviderVintage
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)U.S. Bureau of Labor StatisticsMay 2025
Employment ProjectionsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics2024-2034
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemNational Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS)2024
College Scorecard (school-level outcomes)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release
College Scorecard (field-of-study earnings)U.S. Department of Educationlatest release (updated 2026-06-12)
Occupational licensing requirementsCareerOneStop (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2026-02-22)
Registered apprenticeship programsCareerOneStop / Apprenticeship.gov (U.S. Department of Labor)latest release (updated 2025-10-25)
O*NET occupation profiles (skills, tasks, tools, job zones)U.S. Department of Labor (O*NET / Employment & Training Admin.)O*NET 29.1 (updated 2026-06-13)